Men's Track

    Burns, Wilson Win Titles

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    May 14, 2005

    COLUMBUS, Ohio--Seniors Aarik Wilson and Tom Burns earned Big Ten champion status in the second day of the 2005 Big Ten Track and Field Championships. Wilson won the long jump with a career-best mark of 8.00m (26-3) and Burns, who took everyone by surprise in the final 50 meters of the 3,000m steeplechase, won the race with a time of 8:45.67. After two full days of competition, the Hoosiers stand in third place with 41 points. They trail Wisconsin (65 points) and Minnesota (59 points).

    It couldn't have been more fitting that Burns' race was the last event as it capped off an exciting day of competition at the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. The 3,000m steeplechase featured some of the nation's top performers, including defending Big Ten champion Aaron Fisher of Ohio State. Fisher entered the meet with the nation's 10th-fastest 3,000m steeplechase.  It all boiled down to the last lap when with 200m to go, Fisher led spectators to believe the race was in his hands and he would win by a land slide. Burns was trailing about 50 meters behind Fisher at this point, but found more fuel in the tank and exploded once on the straight away. Fisher got caught up in the last barrier, allowing Burns to take off with just about 40 meters left to cross the finish line and become the first Hoosier to win the 3,000m steeplechase since 1987.

    "This feels great," said Burns. "For me, it is about time. This was a great race that was a battle throughout. Everyone who was in there deserved to win this race."

    Wilson 's long jump title was exciting as well, as he earned his eventual-winning mark on his fourth attempt to beat out Julien Williams of Michigan State .

    "It feels good," Wilson said. "Certainly winning is something to be proud of. There was excellent competition. Today gave me some added confidence, as I prepare for the national championship meet."

    Wilson 's feat is the seventh Big Ten title of his career, including the third long jump crown. Wilson &s mark (8.00m/26-3) also ranks third on the IU all-time record books. Also competing in the long jump was freshman Kyle Jenkins, who put forth a solid effort as well when he earned a sixth-place finish with a personal-best leap of 7.31m (23-11.75)

    "One down, one to go," said associate head coach Wayne Pate. "We are exited about  Aarik's accomplishments today, but he also has another job to do tomorrow in the triple. I am not only happy for Aarik, but it was really nice to see Kyle jump as well as he did today. He is young and has a lot to look forward to."

    Junior Ryan Ketchum and senior Jake Wiseman who both captured runner up performances in the discus and decathlon, respectively. Ketchum heaved a 54.66m (179-4), which trailed only Tim Brodersen of


    who posted a mark of 57.01m (187-00.).

    After two grueling days in the decathlon, Wiseman worked extremely hard to finish second overall. Wiseman earned a total of 7,339 points and was edged out by defending Big Ten champion, Travis Brandstatter of Minnesota , who racked up 7468 points.

    Sitting in third-place after yesterday's events, Wiseman quickly moved into first place when he won the pole vault after clearing a career-best 4.95m (16-2.75). Up next was his best event, the javelin throw. Wiseman took over sole possession of first place and allowed some comfort room heading into the hardest event for the Corydon, Ind., native: the 1,500m. A seventh-place finish would not be enough to win the decathlon, but Wiseman had much to be happy about as he improved one spot from his third place finish just a year ago.

    Indiana will have a lot to look forward to heading into the final day of competition as a total of eight Hoosiers advanced to the finals in their respective events. Sophomore David Neville, the defending Big Ten champion in both the 200m and 400m, and sophomore Stephanos Ioannou doubled up in their events and will compete tomorrow.  Neville blazed to a time of 47.23 in the 400m, and a 21.28 in the 200m, good for third and fourth overall, respectively.

    Meanwhile, Ioannou, who ran in only the second 100m of his career crossed the finish line with a personal-best time of 10.53, which was sixth overall. Barely having time to recover, Ioannou turned around and competed in his signature event, the 110m hurdles. He ran a 14.22, which is the fastest time heading into tomorrow's finals.

    John and Sean Jefferson also both made the cut for the finals of the 1,500m. John finished fourth in his heat with a time of 3:49.99. He was in ninth after the first 800m but moved into third where he was surrounded by Wisconsin runners at the start of the bell lap. Down the straight away of the last 100m, Jefferson was nipped at the very end by Ryan Ford of Minnesota but will still compete in tomorrows finals set for 1:15 p.m. 

    Sean's race went out in a similar fashion, although the pace was a little slower. Sean was near the end of the pack at the 800m mark, but made long strides to close the gap and move into third with the final lap remaining. He kicked it into high gear with 200m and crossed the finish line at 3:50.45.

    Finally, freshman Ryan Smith ran a personal-best time of 53.43 in the 400m hurdles, which put him in ninth-place standing, allowing him to move on to tomorrow's final.

    Action will continue at the 2005 Big Ten Track and Field Championships tomorrow with the first men's event (shot put) set to begin at 12:30 p.m.

    Saturday Results (Men)
    ^=advances to tomorrows final

    Jake Wiseman-2nd place-7339 points

    110m Hurdles-2nd-15.13
    Discus-3rd-41.43m (135-11.00)
    Pole Vault-1st-4.95m (16-2.75)
    Javelin-1st-58.08m (190-7)

    Long Jump
    Aarik Wilson-1st-8.00m (26-3)
    Kyle Jenkins-6th-7.31m (23-11.75)

    High Jump
    Britain Jorgenson-13th-1.95m (6-4.75)
    Tre Kemp-NH

    Ryan Ketchum-2nd-54.67m (179-4)

    1500m Trials
    John Jefferson-6th-3:49.97^
    Sean Jefferson-7th-3:50.45^
    Eric Redman-18th-4"02.77

    400m Trials
    David Neville-3rd-47.23^
    Doug Dayhoff-5th-47.33^
    Trey Warfield-21st-50.59

    100m Trials
    Stephanos Ioannou-6th-10.53^
    Keith Heerdegen-15th-10.73
    Jacob Moylan-17th-10.91

    110m Hurdles Trials
    Stephanos Ioannou-1st-14.22^
    Ryan Smith-13th-14.82
    David Lengar-15th-14.85
    David Lewis-18th-15.34

    800m Trials
    Rodney Hollis-13th-1:52.64
    Mike Diederich-23rd-2:00.63

    200m Trials
    David Neville-4th-21.28^
    Keith Heerdegen-11th-21.67
    Andre Grimes-19th-22.48

    400m Hurdles Trials
    Ryan Smith-9th-53.43^

    3000m Steeplechase
    Tom Burns-1st-8:45.67
    Marcus Aguilar-15th-9:20.93
    Chris Honig-19th-9:48.68



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties