Men's Track

    Wilson Sweeps Conference Honors

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    May 18, 2005

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind.-- Eight-time All-American and IU jumper Aarik Wilson swept the top Big Ten Conference outdoor men's track and field awards, winning Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Championships, announced by the conference office on Wednesday. Amazingly, the senior jumper earned the same awards during the 2005 indoor season, making it just the second time a Big Ten athlete has accomplished this feat. Minnesota's Kevin Sullivan from was the last person to earn the quadruple honors back in 1995.

    Wilson claimed both the long jump and triple jump titles at the Big Ten Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Columbus. The Fallon, Nev., product leaped a personal-best 8.00m (26-3) to win the long jump, a mark that ranks third in the IU record books. In the triple, Wilson won on a mark of 16.26 (53-04.25).

    He is just the second IU student-athlete to be selected Big Ten Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year, as Olympian Bob Kennedy won it three-straight years (1990,91,92). In addition, he is the third Hoosier to win Athlete of the Championships, as David Neville won it in 2004 and Albert Robinson claimed it in 1984.

    "Aarik is such a special athlete," said director of track and field Randy Heisler. "He wins everything he does and it's fun to watch him do it. We are lucky to have him here, and we can't wait to see what he can do at the upcoming regional and national meets."

    Wilson and the rest of the Hoosiers will be back in action next weekend, May 27-28, when they host the NCAA Mideast Regionals at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field in Bloomington.

    Athlete of the Year - Aarik Wilson, Indiana
    Athlete of the Championships - Aarik Wilson, Indiana
    Freshman of the Year - Jeremy Orr, Michigan State
    Coach of the Year - Ed Nuttycombe, Wisconsin

    Athlete of the Year - Cassie Hunt, Illinois
    Athlete of the Championships - Cassie Hunt, Illinois
    Freshman of the Year - Liz Podominick, Minnesota
    Coach of the Year - Gary Winkler, Illinois



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties