Men's Track

    Five IU Athletes NCAA Bound

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    June 1, 2005

    A total of nine Indiana track and field athletes will compete at the 2005 NCAA Outdoor Championships from, June 8-11 at the Alex G. Spanos Sports Complex on the campus of Sacramento State in Sacramento, Calif. The women's team will be represented by sophomore Lorian Price (100m hurdles) and Stacey Clausing (400m) and juniors Larra Overton (1,500m) and Kelly Siefker (3,000m Steeplechase), while juniors Sean Jefferson (1,500m), Stephen Haas (5,000m), and seniors Aarik Wilson (triple/long jump), Tom Burns (3,000m Steeplechase), and Jake Wiseman (decathlon) will compete for the Hoosier men. The nine qualifying individuals is the most IU has sent to NCAAs since the 2003 season when 13 qualified to compete.

    Competition begins on Wednesday, June 8 at 11:00 a.m. with the women's discus and concludes on Saturday, June 11 at 8:45 p.m. with the women's 4x400m relay final.


    Tom Burns, Sr., Hammond, Ind., 3,000m Steeplechase
    2005 Big Ten 3,000m Steeplechase Champion Tom Burns is making his second trip to the NCAA Outdoor meet, as he made an appearance during the 2003 season in the same event. His career-best time in the steeplechase (8:41.14) came at the Mideast Regionals in Bloomington, which led him to a second-place finish.

    Stephen Haas, Jr., Huntersville, N.C., 5,000m
    Junior Stephen Haas is making his first NCAA Outdoor appearance and will compete in the 5,000m. Haas earned All-American status in the 5,000m during the NCAA Indoor Championships after taking a ninth-place finish. The Huntersville, N.C., product captured a runner-up finish at the Mideast Regional with a career-best time of 13:57.92.

    Sean Jefferson, Jr., Delray Beach, Fla., 1,500m
    Jefferson is on the hunt for his second NCAA title as he won the NCAA Indoor mile crown in 2004. The Delray Beach, Fla., native came in second at the 2005 NCAA Indoor Championships and finished third at the 2005 Big Ten Outdoor Championships. Jefferson
    posted a second-place finish at the Mideast Regional meet in the 1,500m with a time of 3:45.73. However, his season-best time (3:41.68) is seeded fifth amoung other 1,500m competitors.

    Aarik Wilson, Sr., Fallon, Nev., Triple Jump, Long Jump
    Eight-time All-American Aarik Wilson is looking to have a repeat performance of the 2005 NCAA Indoor Championships after he swept both the triple jump and long jump in Fayetteville, Ark., in March. Wilson was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Championships after claiming both jumping events at the indoor and outdoor conference meets. The Fallon, Nev., product placed fourth in the long jump and captured the triple jump title at the Mideast Regional meet.

    Jake Wiseman, Sr., Corydon, Ind., Decathlon
    For the second consecutive year, senior Jake Wiseman will take part in the decathlon at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Wiseman finished 21st overall at last year's meet with 6943 points. He also posted a second-place finish at the 2005 Big Ten Championships with 7339 points.


    Seniors Aarik Wilson and Tom Burns, along with juniors Stephen Haas and Sean Jefferson punched their tickets to the 2005 NCAA Championships in Sacramento, Calif. The IU women advanced three to Saturday's finals with the trio of junior Larra Overton and sophomores Lorian Price and Stacey Clausing just missing out on an automatic bid for Nationals. Siefker finished seventh in the 3,000m Steeplechase, while Price (100m hurdles) and Clausing (400m) captured seventh-place honors in their respective events.

    For the men, Arkansas took home the Mideast Regional team title with 94.50 points and three individual accolades. Auburn was second with 58 points, followed by LSU (50), Wisconsin (49) and Tennessee (45). Indiana concluded the two-day regional in sixth with 40 points.

    On the women's side, Tennessee won the team crown with a score of 82 points. LSU was second with a total of 61, followed by Michigan (42.50), Ohio State (41.33), and Arkansas (40). The Cream and Crimson placed 22nd with a total of nine.

    The Last Time...
    Below is a breakdown of the last time IU had an NCAA Outdoor Champion in each respective event. For those events that have never had an NCAA title, the highest finish is listed.

    Men's Long Jump-1957-Greg Bell
    Men's 1,500m-1982-Jim Spivey
    Decathlon-1983-Kerry Zimmerman
    Men's 5,000m-1986-Terry Brahm
    Women's 100m H -2nd (2003 & 2001)-Danielle Carruthers
    Women's 400m -8th (2001)-Tia Trent
    Women's 1,500m-8th (1990)-Jenean Sorrells
    Women's Steeplechase-11th (2004)-Audrey Giesler
    Men's Steeplechase-7th (1968)-Mark Gibbens
    Men's Triple Jump-2nd (2004 & 2002)-Aarik Wilson



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties