Men's Track

    Chapman & Pate Tabbed Mideast Region Assistant Coaches of the Year

    Go Hoosiers! Robert Chapman was recognized for his success with the men's distance runners during the 2005 season
    Go Hoosiers!
    Robert Chapman was recognized for his success with the men's distance runners during the 2005 season
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 6, 2005

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. Indiana assistant track and field coaches Robert Chapman (distance) and Wayne Pate (jumps) have been named Mideast Region Assistant Coaches of the Year, the USA Track and Field Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Monday.

    The honor is not the first coaching recognition for the pair, as Chapman earned the 2000 Big Ten Cross Country Coach of the Year and Pate was awarded the 2003 National Assistant Coach of the Year.

    Chapman, who is in the midst of his seventh-season as the men's distance coach for the Hoosiers, coached three athletes this season that will compete at the 2005 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Senior Tom Burns (3,000m steeplechase), junior Stephen Haas (5,000m) and junior Sean Jefferson (1,500m) each finished runner-up at the Mideast Regional meet in their respective events to qualify for nationals. With Burns' 2005 Big Ten 3,000m steeplechase crown, Chapman has now coached a total of four track and field Big Ten Champions.

    Pate, a veteran track and field coach and former IU athlete, is a large reason for the success of the Hoosier jumpers during the 2005 season, in particular eight-time All-American Aarik Wilson. Wilson, who enters the NCAA Championship with the nation's second-best mark in the long jump and third-best in the triple jump, won both Big Ten titles and was crowned the NCAA champion at the indoor meet. In his seven years as an assistant, Pate has been responsible for 19 Big Ten jumps champions.

    Director of track and field, Randy Heisler said he is proud to have both coaches as a part of his staff.

    "Robert and Wayne are both very deserving of this honor," Heisler said. "They have put a lot of hard work and dedication into the development of this program. The student-athletes they have worked with have been successful because of the commitment these coaches give them day in and day out."


    WOMEN: Caryl Smith, University of Tennessee MEN: Lance Brauman, University of Arkansas

    WOMEN: Byran Compton, University of Arkansas MEN: Wayne Pate, Indiana University

    WOMEN: Mike McGuire, University of Michigan MEN: Robert Chapman, Indiana University

    WOMEN: John Smith, University of Southern Illinois MEN: Jerry Clayton, Auburn University



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties