Men's Cross Country

    Hoosier Harriers Finish Sixth at Big Ten Cross Country Championships

    Go Hoosiers! McLeod paced the Hoosiers with a 12th-place finish.
    Go Hoosiers!
    McLeod paced the Hoosiers with a 12th-place finish.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 29, 2006

    Photo Gallery 

    Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championship Results in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana placed three runners in the top 25 and put together a team score of 151 to finish sixth at the Big Ten Championships at the IU Cross Country Championship Course on Sunday, Oct. 29.

    Sophomore Timothy McLeod led the way for the Hoosiers, finishing 12th overall with a time of 24:46 on the 8,000-meter course. The Tucson, Ariz., native earned All-Big Ten Second Team recognition while competing in his first Big Ten Championships.

    Redshirt freshman Jordan Kyle finished second for the Hoosiers, taking 16th place overall in a time of 24:57. Redshirt sophomore Mark Fruin was Indiana's third finisher, as he posted a time of 25:17 for 25th place overall.

    Senior Marcus Aguilar finished 50th overall, turning in a time of 25:57.

    "We ran really well as a team, and to have three guys finish in the top 25 was great for the team," Aguilar said.

    Redshirt junior Brennon Plotner rounded out the Hoosier scoring with time of 26:06 in his 57th-place effort.

    "It went really well," Plotner said. "We placed better than we even expected. I wanted to start more conservative, but the race started off really fast, so I had to shift my thinking and my execution."

    Sophomore Tyler McCreary finished 72nd overall in 26:38, while redshirt freshman Darryl Stevenson was right behind him in 73rd place with a time of 26:51. Redshirt sophomore Paul Coover came in 79th overall.

    Of Indiana's eight runners, only Aguilar had previously competed at a Big Ten Championship meet.

    Minnesota's Chris Rombough was the Big Ten individual champion, as he bested Wisconsin's Stuart Eagon in a sprint to the finish line to win in 24:05. Eagon finished just one second off Rombough's pace.

    The Badgers took the team title for the eighth consecutive year, posting 27 team points. Wisconsin was followed by Michigan (85 points), Minnesota (98), Michigan State (114), Iowa (136), Indiana (151), Ohio State (169), Illinois (188), Penn State (207) and Purdue (274).

    "We had a pretty good day," volunteer assistant coach Stephen Haas said. "Tim McLeod had a great race and to finish 12th really lets him know he is moving in the right direction. J.K. [Jordan Kyle] as well with his 16th-place finish, and Mark Fruin. The guys they were running with are studs, veteran guys. Our top three ran real well and hopefully in the next two weeks we can close the gap for our fourth and fifth to run even better."

    The Hoosiers resume action at the Great Lakes Regional on Nov. 11 in Bowling Green, Ohio.

    Big Ten Championship Finishes
    1. Wisconsin (27 points)
    2. Michigan (85)
    3. Minnesota (98)
    4. Michigan State (114)
    5. Iowa (136)
    6. Indiana (151)
    7. Ohio State (169)
    8. Illinois (188)
    9. Penn State (207)
    10. Purdue (274)

    Indiana Places/Times
    1. Timothy McLeod (12th/24:46)
    2. Jordan Kyle (16th/24:57)
    3. Mark Fruin (25th/25:17)
    4. Marcus Aguilar (50th/25:57)
    5. Brennon Plotner (57th/26:06)
    6. Tyler McCreary (72nd/26:38)
    7. Darryl Stevenson (73rd/26:51)
    8. Paul Coover (79th/27:53)



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties