Men's Cross Country

    IUXC Men Advance to NCAA Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Andrew Poore finished 10th in 30:32.32
    Go Hoosiers!
    Andrew Poore finished 10th in 30:32.32
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 13, 2010


    ROCHESTER, Mich. - The Indiana men's cross country team earned an automatic berth in the NAA Championships with second place at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional on Saturday. All of IU's top five were in the top 25, including Andrew Poore, Andy Bayer and Ben Hubers taking 10th, 11th and 12th respectively. The Hoosiers advance to the NCAA meet for the first times since 2007 and earned a top-two finish for the first time since 1987.

    The Hoosiers finished second with a score of 76 and finished behind only Wisconsin. The IU women finished fifth with a score of 167.

    Indiana head coach Ron Helmer said the men's team did what it needed to do and left a lot in the tank for the NCAA meet in nine days.

    "I thought they did a really nice job of doing what they needed to do," Helmer said. "We knew Wisconsin was very good. We felt that could be the second place team and we went out and did it. We got the automatic berth without overextending ourselves."

    Poore finished in 30:32.32, and Bayer and Hubers were right behind in 30:32.35 and 30:32.68. All three Hoosiers were within 1.21 seconds of fourth place. The IU top five was rounded out by De'Sean Turner in 19th (30:46.27) and Zach Mayhew in 24th (30:55.46).

    Sarah Pease paced the IU women in 16th place (21:08.93). She was followed in by Samantha Ginther (31st, 21:36.30), Helene DeLone (35th, 21:40.47), Erica Ridderman (37th, 21:41.70) and Kelsey Duerksen (49th, 21:48.80).



    The Hoosiers return to action at the NCAA Championships at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course in Terre Haute, Ind., on Nov. 22. For complete coverage of all things IU cross country, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties