Men's Cross Country


    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    January 22, 2000


    Huber Breaks School Mark

    Complete Meet Results

    The Indiana men's and women's track & field teams both posted victories over visiting Notre Dame. The women (2-0) stayed perfect on the season with a 99-62 win while the men (1-1) posted their first dual meet victory of the year, 89-73.

    The women's meet was highlighted by yet another school record performance from Jennifer Brown and a school-tying record performance by Cori McLeod and Angela McGregor. Brown won the weight throw and for the third time this year broke the Indiana school record. Brown's throw of 18.66 (61' 2.75") moved her closer to the NCAA automatic qualifying mark of 19.50. She also posted a victory in the shot put with an NCAA provisionally qualifying mark of 15.17 (49' 9.25").

    Both McLeod and McGregor tied the school record, which McLeod set last weekend, in the pole vault. They both vaulted 3.5 (11' 5.75"). McLeod won the event as she recorded less misses on her way to tying the school mark.

    "This was our best meet to this point. Last week we were a little flat but the fact that we did not beat Notre Dame last year (lost 82-78) motivated us tonight," Indiana women's head coach Randy Heisler said. "We needed Amanda Bell to win the 3,000 and she did, and we broke one school record and tied another and had a great performance from LaToya (Turner)."

    Amanda Bell won the 3,000 meters for the Hoosiers in a season team best time of 9:52.75 while Maria Fleischmann captured the triple jump with a season team best mark of 11.96m (39' 3"). Rachelle Boone was one of a number of Hoosier sprinters to post a victory as she won the 200 meters with a season best 24.59. Brooke Beckfort captured the 600 meters in 1:37.48 while LaToya Turner tied a team season best (8.51) in the 60 meter hurdles. She tied the mark set by Danielle Carruthers who finished just behind Turner as these two hurdlers continued their battle this season. Carruthers posted a win of her own in the 60 meters in a time of 7.48.

    Courtney Bell placed second in the 800 meters with a team season best time of 2:15.30 while Amy Clippard did the same in the high jump with a mark of 1.64m (5' 4.5"). Tandra Foster led the way in the long jump with a team season best mark of 5.87m (19' 3.25") while Allyson Hammond placed second in the mile with a season team best time of 5:03.62.

    The men posted wins in eight events with all eight coming in the final ten events of the meet as Notre Dame won the meet's first four scored events to take a six-point lead. It was a second place finish that put a Hoosier into the record book as Ryan Huber placed second in the 600 meters with a time of 1:19.44, bettering Geoff Taylor's time of 1:19.60 which he posted nearly eight years ago in 1992.

    Tom Brooks captured the 3,000 meters in 8:30.63 while Jon Lange won the high jump with a mark of 2.12m (6' 11.5"). Russell Brooks won the 60 meters in 6.80 and finished second in the 200 meters with a team season best time of 21.77.

    "This was an outstanding meet for us. Nearly every person set a personal best mark," Indiana men's head coach Marshall Goss said. "Ryan broke the school record and Russell (Brooks) ran well in the sprints for us while Mike (Minton), Hassan (Reddick) and Ben (Jackson) each had a tremendous meet with some personal best marks."

    Mike Minton posted a team season best mark in the shot put as his mark of 17.03m (55' 10.5") won him the event. Hasaan Reddick won the triple jump with a mark of 15.05m (49' 4.5"). Nick Sears captured the 60 meter hurdles (8.52).

    Mikko Simos gave the Hoosiers another victory in the 800 meters (1:53.79) while Dino Efthimiou won the pole vault with a mark of 5.00m (16' 4.75") and finished second in the long jump with a team season best mark of 6.90m (23' 6.75"). Ben Jackson did the same in the weight throw with a second place finish after posting a team season best mark of 16.79m (55' 1.0"). Brett Tipton led off the meet with a team season best time of 4:15.34 as he placed second in the mile.

    Back to the top



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties