Men's Cross Country

    Five Harriers Honored for Work in the Classroom

    Go Hoosiers! Redshirt freshman Zach Mayhew
    Go Hoosiers!
    Redshirt freshman Zach Mayhew
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 2, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The USTFCCCA has announced the 2009 Division I All-Academic team for cross country, and five Hoosiers were among those honored. Senior Wendi Robinson, junior Sarah Pease and sophomore Chelsea Blanchard were awarded the honor on the women's team, and redshirt sophomore Andrew Poore and redshirt freshman Zach Mayhew earned the accolade on the men's team.

    Indiana track and field and cross country director and head coach Ron Helmer said the five honorees are a representation of what being an IU runner is all about.

    "The combination of academic and athletic achievement is what this program needs to be about, and we've got five representatives of that very ideal," said Helmer.

    The Hoosiers had a stellar 2009 campaign on the course and in the classroom. The five honorees all earned All-Region honors for their performances at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, and the five were also part of a record 26 Academic All-Big Ten honorees in 2009.

    IU track and field is back in action on March 5-6 at the Alex Wilson Invitational. For complete coverage of IU track and field, stay tuned to



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties