Men's Cross Country

    Hoosier Harriers Head to Big Tens In Search of Titles

    Go Hoosiers! Redshirt sophomore Danny Stockberger
    Go Hoosiers!
    Redshirt sophomore Danny Stockberger
    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 29, 2009

    Indiana Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader | Big Ten Conference Notes in PDF Format< Get Acrobat Reader

    The Hoosiers head to Happy Valley for the Big Ten Cross Country Championships on Sunday. The meet, hosted in University Park, Pa., will pit the Hoosiers against the other Big Ten schools. Both the men and women are looking to win the Big Ten team title. The women last won the title in 1990 and the men last claimed the championship in 1980. Indiana's men's team enters the meet ranked No. 18 in the nation, and they will square off with the No. 15 Wisconsin Badgers, who have won the last 10 conference titles.

    In 2008, the Indiana men took 5th, lead by All-Big Ten finisher Tim McLeod, and the women finished in eighth, paced by an All-Big Ten performance by Wendi Robinson. Since 2000, the men's team has not finished lower than sixth as a team at the meet, and the Hoosiers have finished in the top five a total of seven times this decade. Each team enters the meet with a runner that has posted an All-Big Ten performance as Robinson earned second-team honors in 2008 and Cole Hardacre earned second-team honors in 2007.

    It was a clean sweep for the Hoosiers at the Sam Bell Invitational, as the men recorded a perfect score of 15 and the women won with four runners in the top ten. Big Ten Runners of the Week two weeks ago, redshirt freshman Andy Bayer and senior Wendi Robinson both took the win for the Hoosiers. The men's team dedicated their effort to IU legend Sam Bell, presenting him with the team championship trophy at the conclusion of the awards ceremony.

    Bayer finished in 25:01.65, recording the first win of his collegiate career. It was more than 48 seconds from that point before a non-IU runner crossed the line. Poore followed Bayer in for second place (25:10.43). Third place went to former IU All-American and current volunteer assistant coach Tom Chorny (25:16.65). Zach Mayhew took fourth (25:21.25), De'Sean Turner was fifth (25:27.81), Cole Hardacre finished sixth (25:30.33), Nate Morrow was seventh (25:35.32) and Andy Weatherford was eighth (25:47.17).

    Robinson and Sarah Pease showed their talents well in the women's race, both pulling away during the last kilometer to finish more than 15 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. Robinson's win is the second of her career. She finished in 21:41.61, and Pease was right behind her, finishing in 21:44.21. Next in for the Hoosiers was Chelsea Blanchard, who took eighth in 22:25.27, and Samantha Ginther, who finished ninth in 22:33.44. Rounding out the top-five for Indiana was Helene DeLone in 14th (22:47.17). Caitlin Engel was 15th (22:47.85), Lyndsey Wall was 20th (22:55.36) and Molly Beckwith was 21st (23:19.77).

    Other notable finishers on the day were Jacob Rich (18th, 26:54.28), Daniel Stockberger (20th, 27:03.53) and Arianne Raby (25th, 23:27.12).

    For those unable to attend meets, live updates will be available via Twitter. IU athletics media relations assistant Kyle Johnson will be tweeting updates from the course and will provide updates on the Hoosiers throughout the year. Just visit



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties