Men's Cross Country

    Indiana Men's Cross Country Earns Fourth-Straight Trip to NCAA's

    Go Hoosiers! Sean Jefferson is one of four seniors on the IU squad to make a fourth-straight NCAA appearance.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sean Jefferson is one of four seniors on the IU squad to make a fourth-straight NCAA appearance.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 14, 2005

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind.-- For the fourth-straight year, the Indiana men's cross country team has earned a bid to compete at the NCAA Championships. The Hoosiers, who finished sixth overall at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional this past weekend, haven't accomplished such a feat since 1955-1959 when Indiana made five-straight NCAA appearances. It is also IU's fifth qualification in the last six years.

    Qualifying for NCAA's didn't officially start until 1972 (when the regional format went into effect). Prior to that, all teams could participate. As a result, this is the first Indiana squad to actually "qualify" for four-straight NCAA appearances.

    It is no wonder the Hoosiers have had such consistent success over the years, as seniors Stephen Haas, Sean Jefferson, Charlie Koeppen and Eric Redman will each make their fourth-straight NCAA appearance. Haas, Jefferson and Redman have represented Indiana all four years, while Koeppen made his first appearance when he attended Northern Arizona before transferring to IU. Only two other IU cross country athletes, Olympians Bob Kennedy and Jim Spivey have qualified for four NCAA appearances, but neither qualified four-straight years due to redshirt seasons.

    The 2005 NCAA Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships will be held on Monday, Nov. 21 in Terre Haute Ind., with race time set for 12 p.m. In addition to the quartet of IU seniors making the trip, junior Marcus Aguilar, freshmen Chris Honig and Brennon Plotner will be making their debut.

    Indiana has now qualified either a team or an individual to the NCAA Cross Country Championships for seven consecutive seasons, a first in program history.

    Indiana is one of only 11 schools nationally and one of four Big Ten teams to have qualified a team for the NCAA's each of the last four years. The programs that hold this distinction are Arkansas, BYU, Colorado, Georgetown, Indiana, Iona, Minnesota, Ohio State, Stanford, William & Mary and Wisconsin.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties