Women's Basketball

    Indiana Women's Basketball Holds 2012-13 Awards Banquet

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Linda Rubene bids farewell at the IU women's basketball awards banquet on April 14.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Linda Rubene bids farewell at the IU women's basketball awards banquet on April 14.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 15, 2013

    Photo Gallery

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana women's basketball team, staff, families and fans gathered on Sunday afternoon in the Henke Hall of Champions to commemorate the 2012-13 season. Nearly 200 people were in attendance as team awards were handed out and seniors Jasmine McGhee, Linda Rubene and Aulani Sinclair said farewell one last time.

    Sinclair was named Offensive Player of the Year as the senior led the Hoosiers in scoring with 15.5 points per game and set a new school record for most 3-point field goals made in a single season with 72. The Eminence, Ind., native earned All-Big Ten Honorable Mention accolades and was also an Academic All-Big Ten honoree as she tallied 30 or more points in four games and connected on seven 3-point field goals twice during the season.

    McGhee was picked as Defensive Player of the Year as the Anderson, Ind., native was the team leader in steals. She also cleaned up a number of defensive possessions last season as she averaged 5.8 rebounds per game to pace the team while guarding the opposing team's biggest offensive threat each night out.

    Junior guard Andrea Newbauer was named Scholar Athlete of the Year. Newbauer is majoring in exercise science and currently has of cumulative GPA of nearly 3.6. She was named Academic All-Big Ten for the second time in her career this season.

    The Most Improved award was shared by senior Linda Rubene and junior Milika Taufa. Rubene saw her playing time grow from 12.1 minutes per game as a junior to 28.5 minutes per contest as senior and averaged 6.5 points and 4.3 rebounds per game as she set or tied career marks in nearly every statistical category in 2012-13. Taufa appeared in every game and was second on the team in rebounds and steals with 5.7 boards and 1.0 steals per contest while shooting 47.7 percent from the field.

    Freshman Nicole Bell was selected as Indiana's Newcomer of the Year. The point guard appeared in 29 games and started 12 times. Bell scored in double figures in seven games and connected on three or more 3-point field goals six times. The Cincinnati, Ohio, native logged some major minutes down the stretch of the season playing 36 or more minutes in nine of the last ten contests.

    Bell and Sasha Chaplin were both honored as Hoosier Award recipients. The Hoosier Award is given to student-athletes who exemplify hard work, dedication and leadership both on the court and in the community.

    The Unsung Hero Award was given to Cecelia Knapp who volunteers her time in the women's basketball office. The award is given to those who work behind-the-scenes to help the program succeed.

    All awards were voted upon by the team and coaching staff. Jeremy Gray, the radio voice for IU women's basketball, served as emcee. Head coach Curt Miller closed the day with a speech on the future of the Indiana women's basketball program.

    The 2012-13 season opened a new era for Indiana women's basketball. The Hoosiers doubled their Big Ten win total and nearly doubled the team's total wins from the season before. IU topped No. 22/21 Purdue on Feb. 20 for the program's first win over a ranked opponent in over two years and IU's first win over a ranked Big Ten opponent since January 2010.

    Indiana finished the non-conference slate with a 9-4 mark, marking the first time an IU team had won that many regular season non-Big Ten games in six years. During that span, the Hoosiers held five consecutive opponents under 50 points going 5-0 in those contests. The last time an Indiana team held opponents to less than 50 points in five straight games was during the 1973-74 season.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties