Women's Basketball

    IU Women's Basketball Holds End of Year Banquet

    Go Hoosiers! Whitney Lindsay presents Jori Davis with the Whitney Thomas Character Award at Monday night's banquet.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Whitney Lindsay presents Jori Davis with the Whitney Thomas Character Award at Monday night's banquet.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 19, 2011

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana women's basketball program put the final touches on the 2010-11 season with its annual banquet on Monday evening. The event took place at the Henke Hall of Champions in the North End Zone of Memorial Stadium to honor members of the team and say a final farewell the four seniors, Jori Davis, Hope Elam, Whitney Lindsay and Andre McGuirt.

    A number of individuals were honored during the evening beginning with academic awards given to members of the team with a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better. Those recognized for that achievement were Danilsa Andujar, Sasha Chaplin, Davis, Simone Deloach, Alisha Goodwin, Georgie Jones, McGuirt, Andrea Newbauer, Aulani Sinclair and Andrea Wensits. McGuirt was also recognized as the team's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She graduated in December of 2010 with an Accounting degree and is currently enrolled in master's courses for Accounting.

    Head Coach Felisha Legette-Jack presented Davis with the Player of the Year award for the 2010-11 season. Davis wrapped up the year averaging 19.5 points, 5.6 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 1.8 steals per game. Davis ended her senior campaign ranked among the best on IU's all-time single-season lists ranking sixth in points scored (565), fourth in points per game (19.5) and second in free throws made (179). The Rochester, N.Y., native was drafted by the Indiana Fever in the 2011 WNBA draft on April 11.



    The seniors were honored with the annual Heart Awards. Davis also received the Whitney Thomas Character Award, which was presented by Thomas, a former Indiana standout. Assistant Coach Amaka Agugua announced Deloach as the Most Improved Player for the 2010-11 season. Rounding out player awards, Whitney Lindsay was honored with the Kim Roberson Defense Award, which was presented by Associate Head Coach Jose Mori.

    Legette-Jack also announced a new scholarship that will honor women's basketball student managers. It is called the Brittany Hollingsworth Women's Basketball Manager Scholarship. It is named after the hard work and dedication of senior Brittany Hollingsworth, who was head manager this last season and was with the team for three years. The scholarship was endowed by an anonymous donor with contributions coming from additional family and friends who wanted to honor Hollingsworth. The scholarship will be given yearly to support the hard work of student managers.

    Another honor handed out was for a supporter of the program as Melanie Hart was named Phenomenal Woman of the Year.

    Below are some highlight videos which were played during Monday night's banquet.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties