Women's Basketball

    Reunion Set for 2002 IU Women's Basketball Big Ten Tournament Championship Team

    Go Hoosiers! 2002 Big Ten Tournament champions.
    Go Hoosiers!
    2002 Big Ten Tournament champions.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Dec. 14, 2011

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana women's basketball program will welcome back members of the 2002 Big Ten Tournament championship team on Feb. 17-19, 2012, for a 10-year reunion weekend. Members of the 2001-02 team and staff will be honored at halftime on Feb. 19 as the Hoosiers take on Michigan at Assembly Hall at Noon ET on the BTN.

    During the 2002 Big Ten Tournament run, the fifth-seeded Hoosiers topped fourth-seeded Iowa in overtime before defeating top-seeded Purdue in the semifinals. Indiana earned the program's first tournament title with a win over second-seeded Penn State in the championship game, 75-72. The victory gave Indiana an automatic berth into the NCAA tournament. Heather Cassady was named the tournament's most valuable player, as Jill Chapman was an all-tournament team honoree.

    Chapman also earned First Team All-Big Ten honors that season by both the coaches and the media, with Cassady being named a Second Team All-Big Ten honoree by the coaches and an honorable mention all-conference performer by the media. Erin McGinnis was also recognized by the media as an All-Big Ten honorable mention honoree.

    Indiana fans can purchase tickets for this game and all women's basketball games by calling 1-866-IUSPORTS or online at IUHoosiers.com.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties