Field Hockey

    Four Hoosiers Earn Big Ten Postseason Awards

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 1, 2012

    Bloomington, Ind. - Four members of the Indiana field hockey team picked up Big Ten postseason honors announced the conference office today, Nov. 1.  Morgan Fleetwood was named First Team All-Big Ten, while Hannah Boyer and Audra Heilman earned Second Team accolades. Maggie Olson picked up the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

    Fleetwood picks up her third conference award and her first career First Team honor after posting a record-setting season for the Hoosiers. The Freeburg, Pa. native broke several program career records behind a solid 2012 campaign that moved her atop the all-time list in points (111) and goals (43). Her 1.40 points per game in conference play ranks 10th in the Big Ten as are her 0.40 goals per game. Fleetwood also ranks eighth with her 0.60 assists per game.

    Boyer, a Second Team selection, earns her first career postseason All-Big Ten award after playing an integral role for the Hoosiers' backfield. The redshirt junior has started and played in all 17 games for IU this season and tallied her first career goal and defensive save in addition to her valuable defensive play.

    Heilman also picks up Second Team honors after posting three goals and five assists in 2012. Her 11 points on the season is third best for the Hoosiers and her 35 shots is tied for second-best. The All-Big Ten nod is also a first for the Easton, Pa. native.

    Olson, who has played in six contests with an impressive 1.68 goals against average in 2012, earns the Sportsmanship Award. The honor is credited to student-athletes who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.



    2012 All-Big Ten Teams

    First Team*
    Morgan Fleetwood, Sr., M/F, IND
    Kathleen McGraw, Sr., GK, IOWA
    Abby Barker, So., F, MSU
    Chelsea Armstrong, Sr., F/M, NU
    Nikki Parsley, Jr., M, NU
    Tara Puffenberger, Jr., M, NU
    Paula Pastor-Pitarque, Sr., M, OSU
    Laura Gebhart, So., M, PSU
    Brittany Grzywacz, Jr., B, PSU

    Second Team*
    Hannah Boyer, Jr., B, IND
    Audra Heilman, So., M, IND
    Sarah Drake, Sr., F, IOWA
    Geena Lesiak, Sr., M, IOWA
    Marike Stribos, Jr., M/B, IOWA
    Haley Jones, Sr., GK, MICH
    Leslie Smith, So., B, MICH
    Lauren Thomas, Fr., B, MICH
    Kristen Henn, Jr., B, MSU
    Becky Stiles, So., M, MSU
    Lisa McCarthy, Fr., B, NU
    Arielle Cowie, Jr., M, OSU
    Danica Deckard, Sr., F, OSU
    Berta Queralt, Jr., F, OSU
    Ashtin Klingler, Jr., F, PSU

    Offensive Player of the Year: Kelsey Amy, PSU
    Defensive Player of the Year: Brittany Grzywacz, PSU
    Freshman of the Year: Lisa McCarthy, NU
    Coach of the Year: Charlene Morett, PSU

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Maggie Olson, IND
    Marike Stribos, IOWA
    Liesl Morris, MICH
    Corey Block, MSU
    Amanda Wirth, NU
    Laura Napolitano, OSU
    Hannah Allison, PSU

    Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS
    *Additional honorees due to ties


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties