Women's Golf

    55 Hoosiers Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    July 10, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana Athletics boasted 55 honorees on the 2012-13 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Awards list, announced by the Big Ten Conference on Wednesday, July 10, representing baseball, women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, field hockey, football, men's and women's golf, rowing, women's soccer, softball, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's track and field, volleyball, water polo and wrestling.

    "These 55 student-athletes represent the highest ideals of intercollegiate athletics," said Fred Glass, Indiana Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics. "They continue IU Athletics' longstanding tradition of success in the classroom. We are so proud to call them Hoosiers".

    In February of 2008, Big Ten Faculty Representatives established a conference academic recognition to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student-athlete's academic career.

    2012-13 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars
    (Bold indicates 4.0 GPA)
    Trace Knoblauch, Baseball
    Linda Rubene, Women's Basketball
    Kyle Overway, Men's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Kelsey Duerksen, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Caitlin Engel, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Samantha Ginther, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Jordan Gray, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Samantha Gwin, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Brianna Johnson, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Erica Ridderman, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
    Hannah Boyer, Field Hockey
    Corinne Karch, Field Hockey
    Mark Murphy, Football
    Adam Replogle, Football
    John Beringer, Men's Golf
    Kate Coons, Women's Golf
    Rosie Davis, Women's Golf
    Elizabeth Tong, Women's Golf
    Lindsey Blum, Rowing
    Emily Bush, Rowing
    Kelsey Cundiff, Rowing
    Megan Duffy, Rowing
    Kim Gilmour, Rowing
    Kathryn Laine, Rowing
    Grace Mendel, Rowing
    Ann Thompson, Rowing
    Megan Van Pelt, Rowing
    Ciersten Burks, Women's Soccer
    Rebecca Candler, Women's Soccer
    Rebecca Dreher, Women's Soccer
    Shannon Flower, Women's Soccer
    Megan Holland, Women's Soccer
    Monica Melink, Women's Soccer
    Abby Smith, Women's Soccer
    Bekah White, Women's Soccer

    Becca Zambon, Women's Soccer
    Kelsey Brannon, Softball
    George Andrews, Men's Swimming and Diving
    Ian Boggs, Men's Swimming and Diving
    Ryan Hinshaw, Men's Swimming and Diving
    Dimitrije Tasic, Men's Tennis
    Kayla Fujimoto, Women's Tennis
    Sophie Garre, Women's Tennis
    Leslie Hureau, Women's Tennis
    Alecia Kauss, Women's Tennis
    Shannon Murdy, Women's Tennis
    Derek Drouin, Men's Track and Field
    Steven Turpin, Men's Track and Field
    Sophie Gutermuth, Women's Track and Field
    Jordan Haverly, Volleyball
    Jade Henderson, Volleyball
    Shae Fournier, Water Polo
    Meghan Lappan, Water Polo
    Amanda Redfern, Water Polo
    Preston Keiffer, Wrestling




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties