Women's Soccer

    Indiana Women's Soccer Holds Postseason Awards Banquet

    Go Hoosiers! Team photo at the banquet
    Go Hoosiers!
    Team photo at the banquet
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 31, 2014

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana Women's Soccer team held its annual postseason awards banquet on Saturday night (March 29) in the Henke Hall of Champions, handing out a number of team and individual awards on the evening after a record breaking 2013 season.

    The Hoosiers set single-season program records for wins (15), goals (43), assists (46) and shutouts (9) on their way to appearances in the Big Ten Tournament and NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2007.

    The awards that were handed out include:

    Coaches Award - Bekah White
    White appeared in all 23 games for the Hoosiers, making 22 starts during the 2013 season. She finished with one goal - in the semifinals of the Big Ten Tournament - and three assists. The Coaches Award is selected by the coaches and given to the player the continually puts the team above everything else and is always willing to do whatever it takes to win.

    Unsung Hero Award - Abby Smith
    The Unsung Hero Award is given to the player whose contributions are not always noted in the box score or in the newspaper, but are key to the team's success. A team vote selected Smith as this year's recipient after she scored five goals and had five assists while playing in all 23 games but making just 11 starts in 2013.

    Rookie of the Year Award - Marissa Borschke
    Borschke played in 22 games and was in the starting lineup for 17 of them as a central defender for the Hoosiers. She was instrumental in the Hoosiers posting a school record nine shutouts in 2013 while playing the most minutes of any freshman.

    Most Improved Player Award - Kayleigh Steigerwalt
    Steigerwalt played defender and some midfield as a freshman but transitioned into an attacking forward for the Hoosiers in her sophomore campaign. She played in all 23 games and made 17 starts while adding five goals and seven assists after not scoring a point her freshman year.



    Defensive Most Valuable Player - Shannon Flower
    Flower played every minute of all 23 games in goal for Indiana in her final season in Bloomington. She posted career bests in goals against average (1.32) and saves (87) and ranks second all-time in school history for win by a goalkeeper with 24. She registered nine shutouts and was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week on two occasions during the season.

    Offensive Most Valuable Player - Lisa Nouanesengsy
    Nouanesengsy etched her name into the IU record books during her senior year, scoring 11 goals and tallying three assists on her way to being named Second Team All-Big Ten. The 11 goals are the fifth-most in a season in school history and she became the fourth player in IU history to be named First Team All-Region by the NSCAA. In addition, she is the only player in program history to record three games of three goals scored in a career.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties