Women's Soccer

    Eight Hoosiers Head to 2012 London Olympic Games

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    July 9, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Eight Hoosiers will represent seven countries in their quest for gold at the 2012 London Olympic Games, beginning July 25.

    2012 Indiana University Olympians
    Kayla Bashore-Smedley (USA, Women's Field Hockey)
    Margaux Farrell (France, Swimming - Women's 4x200M freestyle relay)
    Christina Loukas (USA, Diving - Women's 3M Springboard)
    Dorina Szekeres (Hungary, Swimming - Women's 200M backstroke)
    Nicholas Schwab (Dominican Republic - Men's 200M freestyle)
    Kate Fesenko (Ukraine - Women's 800M freestyle relay)
    Derek Drouin (Canada, Men's High Jump)
    Orianica Velasquez (Colombia - Women's Soccer)


    All times are listed BST - British Standard Time and ET - Eastern Time.

    Orianica Velasquez, who will be a senior on the women's soccer team in the fall, was one of 18 players named to the Colombian National team that will represent the country in the 2012 Olympic Games in London later this month. She will be the first women's soccer player from Indiana University to compete in the Olympic Games. Velasquez, a native of Bogota, Colombia, has scored 19 goals, fifth-most in IU history, and has eight assists to her credit in her first three years with the Hoosiers. Last summer, she helped Colombia to an appearance in the World Cup and was named the "FIFA Player of the Match" against North Korea as Colombia earned its first-ever World Cup point with a draw.

    Women's Soccer Wednesday, July 25 - First Round Group G Colombia vs. DPR Korea - 7:45 p.m. (BST)/2:45 p.m. (ET) - Glasgow, Scotland
    Saturday, July 28 - First Round Group G United States vs. Colombia - 5 p.m. (BST)/12 p.m. (ET) - Glasgow, Scotland
    Tuesday, July 31 - First Round Group G France vs. Colombia - 5:15 p.m. (BST)/12:15 p.m. (ET) - Newcastle, England

    Women's competition begins with a preliminary stage: the 12 women's teams are divided into groups of four teams (three groups in the women's competition), and each team plays every other in their group. Teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw and nothing for a loss. Brackets competition will start on Friday, Aug. 3 and continue on to Aug. 9 with the bronze and gold medal matches.


    Former Indiana Field Hockey midfielder Kayla Bashore-Smedley was named to the U.S. Olympic Team for the 2012 Olympic Games in London, announced by USA Field Hockey. Bashore-Smedley is the lone Big Ten player representing the U.S. in field hockey in London. She is one of seven players on the current U.S. roster that played in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China. After being selected to the USA Women's National Team in 2006, Bashore-Smedley has participated in the World Cup Qualifying Tournament in Rome, Italy (2006), Pan American Games in Rio de Janeiro and Bermuda (2007, 2009), the 2008 Olympic Games, the AtaHolding World Cup Qualifying Tournament in Chula Vista, Calif. (2010), and the Champions Challenge in Dublin, Ireland (2011) with the U.S. National Team.

    Women's Field Hockey (Riverbank Arena, London, England)
    Sunday, July 29 - Preliminary Round - Germany vs. United States - 9:15 p.m. (BST)/4:15 p.m. (ET)
    Tuesday, July 31 - Preliminary Round - Argentina vs. United States - 7 p.m. (BST)/2 p.m. (ET)
    Thursday, Aug. 2 - Preliminary Round - Australia vs. United States - 10:45 a.m. (BST)/5:45 a.m. (ET)
    Saturday, Aug. 4 - Preliminary Round - United States vs. New Zealand - 7 p.m. (BST)/2 p.m. (ET)
    Monday, Aug. 6 - Preliminary Round - United States vs. South Africa - 10:45 a.m. (BST)/5:45 a.m. (ET)

    Women's field hockey competition begins with a preliminary phase: the 12 teams are divided into two pools of six, and each team plays every other in their pool. The top two teams in each pool qualify for the semi-finals, the winners of which go head-to-head for the gold. The other teams in the two groups play each other to determine final placings. In the preliminary phase, teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw. In the knockout matches, ties are resolved by extra time (two 7½-minute periods), with a golden goal - the first goal scored - winning the match. If still tied after this time, the match is decided by a shoot-out competition of five attempts per team. Classification and Semifinal Rounds start on Wednesday, Aug. 8 and continue on Aug. 10 with bronze medal and gold medal matches.


    Sophomore Dorina Szekeres will represent her native Hungary in the London Olympics in the 200 backstroke. Szekeres recently completed her freshman year at IU, where she placed 11th in the 200-yard backstroke at the 2012 Big Ten Championships, as well as fifth in the 400-yard individual medley and 15th in the 100-yard backstroke.

    At the European Championships in May, Szekeres placed 17th in the 200-meter backstroke (2:16.67), 36th in the 100-meter backstroke (1:05.02) and 38th in the 50-meter backstroke (30.69).

    Women's 200M Backstroke (Aquatics Centre, London, England)
    Thursday, Aug. 2 - Heats, 11:46 a.m. (BST)/6:46 a.m. (ET) - Semifinals, 7:54 p.m. (BST)/2:54 p.m. (ET)
    Friday, Aug. 3 - Finals - 7:30 p.m. (BST)/2:30 p.m. (ET)


    Senior Nicholas Schwab will represent the Dominican Republic in the 200-meter freestyle at his first Olympic Games. He made the Olympics qualifying time with a 1:53.80 in the 200-meter freestyle at the Indianapolis Grand Prix in March. Schwab was granted citizenship in the Dominican Republic in 2011, his mother's native country. After competing in the national championships in Santo Domingo last summer, where he broke a national record in the 400-meter freestyle, he went on to win his first major gold medal at the Central American and Caribbean Swimming Championships in Puerto Rico.

    Schwab won the 200-meter individual medley in a meet record and career-best time of 2:08.90. He bettered his previous best by 2.67 seconds. He also took a silver medal in the 400-meter freestyle in 4:04, his fastest time of the summer, and bronze medal in the 200-meter freestyle in 1:56.20. Competing at the 2011 FINA World Championships in Shanghai, China he won his heat and placed 47th overall in the 200-meter freestyle.

    Men's 200M Freestyle (Aquatics Centre, London, England)
    Sunday, July 29 - Heats, 10:20 - Semifinals, 7:37 p.m. (BST)/2:37 p.m. (ET)
    Monday, July 30 - Final - 7:41 p.m. (BST)/2:41 p.m. (ET)


    IU All-American and 2010 NCAA Champion Kate Fesenko was named to the Ukrainian Olympic Team as a member of the 800 freestyle relay. This will be Fesenko's third Olympic Games, as she represented Ukraine at the 2004 Athens and 2008 Beijing Games.

    Women's 800M Freestyle Relay (Aquatics Centre, London, England)
    Wednesday, Aug. 1 - Heats, 11:39 a.m. (BST)/6:27 a.m. (ET) - Final, 8:57 p.m. (BST)/3:57 p.m. (ET)


    Senior Margaux Farrell was named as an alternate for the 4x200 freestyle relay as a member of the French Olympic team. The French Olympic Trials, held in Dunkirk, France. A native of Connecticut, Farrell holds dual U.S. and French citizenship. Competing as an individual, Farrell finished fifth in the 200-meter freestyle (1:59.31) and fourth in the 100-meter freestyle (56.32) to gain her selection to the Olympic squad. This will be her first Olympics. Farrell recently ended her career as a 12-time All-American and four-time NCAA Championships qualifier.

    Women's 4x200M Freestyle Relay (Aquatics Centre, London, England)
    Wednesday, Aug. 1 - Heats, 11:39 a.m. (BST)/6:39 a.m. (ET) - Final, 8:57 p.m. (BST)/3:57 p.m. (ET)


    Former Indiana University All-American and 2009 NCAA Champion Christina Loukas can now call herself a two-time Olympian after earning a spot on the 2012 squad at the USA Diving Olympic Trials in Federal Way, Wash. Loukas finished second in the 3-meter springboard finals with a score of 1017.85 points. Loukas scored 72 points or higher on three other dives, including 76.50 on her back 2 ½ in the first round. Loukas also represented the United States at the 2008 Olympic games, finishing 9th in the women's 3-meter springboard competition.

    Women's Diving - 3M Springboard (Aquatics Centre, London, England)
    August 3 - Preliminary Round - 2:30 p.m. (BST)/9:30 a.m. (ET)
    August 4 - Semifinal - 2:30 p.m. (BST)/9:30 a.m. (ET)
    August 5 - Final - 7 p.m. (BST)/2 p.m. (ET)


    Junior high jumper Derek Drouin punched his ticket to the Olympics by winning the Canadian Olympic Trials. Drouin cleared 2.31m (7-7) for the win, becoming the only the second person in the world to clear that height three times this season. The junior heads to the London Olympics along with second-place finisher Michael Mason, who cleared 2.28m (7-6). Drouin is the first IU high jumper to earn their way to the Olympics and the second Canadian Hoosier to earn an Olympic spot in track and field, joining hurdler Wes Brooker, who competed in the 1968 games in Mexico City. He is the 26th IU track and field athlete to earn a trip to the Olympics all-time, and his Olympic berth is the 32nd all-time by those 26 athletes. Drouin's trip to London will mark the eighth consecutive Olympiad with a Hoosier track and field athlete competing.

    Men's High Jump (Olympic Stadium, London, England)
    Sunday, Aug. 5 - Monday, Aug. 6 - Qualifying Rounds - 7:05 p.m. (BST)/2:05 p.m. (ET)
    Tuesday, Aug. 7 - Final - 7 p.m. (BST)/2 p.m. (ET)

    Stay tuned to IUHoosiers.com for updates throughout the 2012 London Olympics and join the conversation on Twitter by tagging tweets #IULondon12.

     

     

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties