Women's Soccer

    Nouanesengsy Named Second Team All-Big Ten; Ellis On All-Freshman Team

    Go Hoosiers! Lisa Nouanesengsy
    Go Hoosiers!
    Lisa Nouanesengsy
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 5, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana senior midfield Lisa Nouanesengsy (Huber Heights, Ohio) was named Second Team All-Big Ten as voted on by the conference coaches. She is the first IU midfielder to be named to either the first or second team All-Big Ten since Christie Kotynski in 2006.

    Complete All-Big Ten ListGet Acrobat Reader

    It's the second straight year that Indiana has had a player named All-Big Ten after Orianica Velasquez garnered second team honors in 2012 at the forward position.

    Joining Nouanesengsy on the All-Big Ten list was Veronica Ellis (Naperville, Ill.), who was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team, becoming the first Hoosier to be named to that list since Kerri Krawczak in 2008.

    Nouanesengsy leads the team with 10 goals and 23 points this season, helping the Hoosiers to the No. 4 seed in this week's Big Ten Conference Tournament in Champaign, Ill. Her 10 goals this year make her just the fourth player in IU history to amass that many in a single season. She is sixth in career points (54) and goals (23) at Indiana and is the only player to score three goals in a game on three separate occasions.

    Ellis has played in 18 out of 19 games this season, including all 11 Big Ten Conference games. She has two goals on the year and both of them were game-winning goals in conference play. In the Big Ten opener against Minnesota, she came on in the second half and less than two minutes after entering the game, she scored the only goal in a 1-0 IU win. Then she scored the game-winner at Michigan State in overtime to help the Hoosiers keep pace for a bid to the Big Ten Tournament.

    Redshirt junior Rebecca Dreher was named the Sportsmanship Award nominee from Indiana as well.

    Indiana will play the No. 5 seed Illinois on Wednesday at 8:30 p.m. ET in the Big Ten Tournament in Champaign, Ill. The game will be broadcast on BTN.com.

    Coach of the Year: JOHN WALKER, Nebraska
    Forward of the Year: Jannelle Flaws, Illinois
    Midfielder of the Year: Jordan Jackson, Nebraska
    Defender of the Year: Ari Romero, Nebraska
    Goalkeeper of the Year: Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota
    Freshman of the Year: Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin

    All-Big Ten Teams
    First Tea, JANNELLE FLAWS, Illinois, Forward
    Nkem Ezurike, Michigan, Forward
    Maya Hayes, Penn State, Forward
    Meghan Toohey, Michigan, Midfield
    Jordan Jackson, Nebraska, Midfield
    Mallory Weber, Penn State, Midfield
    Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin, Midfield
    Holly Hein, Michigan, Defender
    Shelina Zadorsky, Michigan, Defender
    ARI ROMERO, Nebraska, Defender
    Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota, Goalkeeper

    Second Team
    Cloe Lacasse, Iowa, Forward, Forward
    Jaycie Johnson, Nebraska, Forward
    Nichelle Prince, Ohio State, Forward
    Lisa Nouanesengsy, Indiana, Midfield
    Taylor Schram, Penn State, Midfield
    Kinley McNicoll, Wisconsin, Midfield
    Melanie Pickert, Iowa, Defender
    Mary Kathryn Fiebernitz, Michigan State, Defender
    Megan Fuller, Ohio State, Defender
    Whitney Church, Penn State, Defender
    Emma Stevens, Nebraska, Goalkeeper

    All-Freshman Team*
    MADISSON LEWIS, Michigan, Forward
    JAYCIE JOHNSON, Nebraska, Forward
    Nichelle Prince, Ohio State, Forward
    Veronica Ellis, Indiana, Midfield
    Josee Stiever, Minnesota, Midfield
    Sydney Miramontez, Nebraska, Midfield
    Alexis Degler, Ohio State, Midfield
    ROSE LAVELLE, Wisconsin, Midfield
    Amanda Lulek, Iowa, Defender
    Brittany Basinger, Penn State, Defender
    Kylie Schwarz, Wisconsin, Defender
    Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota, Goalkeeper

    * Additional honoree due to tie. Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
    Kristen Gierman, Sr., Illinois
    Rebecca Dreher, Jr., Indiana
    Alex Melin, Sr., Iowa
    Chloe Sosenko, Jr., Michigan
    Kelsey Mullen, Sr., Michigan State
    Steph Brandt, Sr., Minnesota
    Hannah Dittmar, Jr., Nebraska
    Kate Allen, Sr., Northwestern
    Ellyn Gruber, Jr., Ohio State
    Tani Costa, Sr., Penn State
    Hadley Stuart, Sr., Purdue
    Marisa Kresge, So., Wisconsin




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties