Women's Soccer

    Program Sets New Record With 20 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

    Go Hoosiers! A total of 20 members of the 2012 team were named Academic All-Big Ten
    Go Hoosiers!
    A total of 20 members of the 2012 team were named Academic All-Big Ten
    Go Hoosiers!

    Dec. 7, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Big Ten Conference announced the Academic All-Big Ten recipients for the fall sports on Thursday and the Indiana women's soccer program was well represented. In all, the Hoosiers had 20 student-athletes receive the honor, the most ever by the program, and also led all other women's soccer teams in the Big Ten.

    "To have this many Academic All-Big Ten honorees speaks volumes about the quality of our student-athletes, coaches and academic support staff," said IU Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass in talking about the 88 student-athletes across all fall sports at Indiana. In total, 88 student athletes from Indiana received the honor across seven sports.

    The list of women's soccer players that received the award includes: Ciersten Burks, Molly Buynak, Rebecca Candler, Rebecca Dreher, Shannon Flower, Megan Holland, Zibba Huck, Tori Keller, Kristin Leist, Kate McCusker, Monica Melink, Lisa Nouanesengsy, Shannon Reid, Lara Ross, Abby Smith, Sarah Stone, Orianica Velasquez, Bekah White, Jordan Woolums, Becca Zambon



    To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher.

    Looking a little deeper at the numbers, the Hoosiers had 31 student-athletes on the 2012 roster. Taking away the 11 freshmen on the team that were not eligible for the award, that means that each of the remaining 20 student-athletes received the award, which is a testament to the hard work that academic adviser Eileen O'Rourke put in with the team over the course of the semester.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties