Saucedo Named Second Team All-Big Ten

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    May 7, 2014

    ROSEMONT, Ill.Breanna Saucedo of the Indiana softball team was selected to the All-Big Ten second team the conference announced today, May 7. This is the first B1G Award for the redshirt senior and represents the 11th All-Big Ten selection under head Coach Michelle Gardner.

    Lora Olson also received B1G nods, earning the conference’s Sportsmanship Award, a designation chosen for individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    Saucedo has rebounded after suffering a season-ending injury in 2013. The Ontario, Calif. native currently leads the Hoosiers in batting average (.335), hits (64), and runs scored (29). Her 64 hits in 2014 push her career total to 218, making her just one of five IU players to tally 200-or-more hits in a career, and also put her fourth in the all-time program record books. Saucedo also ranks fourth in runs scored (106) and is just two stolen bases shy of tying for sixth all-time in program history (Julia Hamilton – 51 from 2005-08). In Big Ten play, Saucedo has started in all 23 conference contests at shortstop, hitting .329 with a team-best 26 hits in B1G games. Saucedo also scored nine runs in conference play with a double, triple and four RBI.

    2014 Softball All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards 

    First Team All-Big Ten

    Megan Blank, Jr., SS, IOWA
    Nicole Sappingfield, Sr., OF, MICH
    Sara Groenewegen, Fr., P, MINN
    Kaitlyn Richardson, Jr., 3B, MINN
    Tyler Walker, Jr., SS, MINN
    Hailey Decker, So., 2B, NEB
    Tatum Edwards, Sr., P/UT, NEB
    Taylor Edwards, Sr., C, NEB
    Marisa Bast, Sr., 3B, NU
    Brianna LeBeau, So., 2B, NU
    Cammi Prantl, So., OF, OSU
    Taylor Watkins, Jr., OF, OSU
    Ashley Burkhardt, Jr., 1B, PUR
    Andie Varsho, Sr., OF, PUR
    Mary Massei, Sr., OF, WIS 



    Second Team All-Big Ten

    Kylie Johnson, So., OF, ILL
    Breanna Saucedo, Sr., SS, IND
    Megan Betsa, Fr., P, MICH
    Taylor Hasselbach, Sr., DP, MICH
    Lauren Sweet, Jr., C, MICH
    Haylie Wagner, Jr., P, MICH
    Sara Moulton, Sr., P, MINN
    Alicia Armstrong, So., SS, NEB
    Marjani Knighten, Fr., 3B, NEB
    Emily Lockman, So., P, NEB
    Emily Allard, Sr., OF, NU
    Andrea DiPrima, Jr., OF, NU
    Lexi Knief, So., OF, PSU
    Tori Chiodo, Sr., 3B. PUR
    Lilly Fecho, So., P, PUR
    Danielle Fletcher, Sr., C, PUR
    Michelle Mueller, Sr., 3B, WIS
    Taylor-Paige Stewart, So., P, WIS

    Players in ALL CAPS denote unanimous selection

    All-Defensive Team

    P: Tatum Edwards, Sr., NEB
    C: Taylor Edwards, Sr., NEB
    1B: Evelyn Carrillo, Sr., OSU
    2B: Abby Ramirez, Fr., MICH
    SS: Megan Blank, Jr., IOWA
    3B: Marisa Bast, Sr., NU
    OF: Nicole Sappingfield, Sr., MICH
    OF: Emily Allard, Sr., NU
    OF: Taylor Watkins, Jr., OSU 

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sierra Romero, So., MICH
    PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Sara Groenewegen, Fr., MINN
    FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Sara Groenewegen, MINN
    COACH OF THE YEAR: Rhonda Revelle, NEB

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees: Jenna Mychko, ILL; Lora Olson, IND; Brianna Luna, IOWA; Katie Luetkens, MICH; Ellie Stoffer, MSU; Kelsey Klucas, MINN; Mattie Fowler, NEB; Fran Strub, NU; Caitlin Conrad, OSU; Maegan Tupinio, PSU; Maia Monchek, PUR; Ashley Van Zeeland, WIS


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties