Softball Hands Out Team Awards At Banquet

    Go Hoosiers! Amanda Wagner
    Go Hoosiers!
    Amanda Wagner
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 8, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana University softball team held its annual team awards banquet in the Henke Hall of Champions on Saturday (May 5). Junior Amanda Wagner brought home Team Most Valuable Player and Most Outstanding Player awards.

    Wagner is hitting .348 entering the final weekend of the season at Michigan State this weekend and leads the team with nine home runs and 34 RBI. She is among the Big Ten's best in on-base percentage and slugging percentage.

    For the Pitcher of the Year Award, sophomore Meaghan Murphy and freshman Lora Olson shared the honor. Murphy has had the most success recently, going 3-1 in her last four starts while Olson leads the staff with 14 wins and a 4.59 ERA. As a team, Indiana started the season with just 5.0 innings returning from a year ago - the second fewest among the 62 BCS softball programs.

    The Freshman of the Year Award was also shared, as Shannon Cawley and Brianna Meyer shared the award. Cawley is second on the team with a .328 batting average, eight doubles, four home runs and 19 RBI. Meyer is hitting .302 in Big Ten play with one home run and 10 RBI to got with 11 runs scored.

    The Most Improved Player Award went to junior Kelsey Brannon and senior Samantha Berenter. Brannon has been a key cog in the high-powered Indiana offense this season and has been thrust into the leadoff spot of late. She is hitting .302 this year after being primarily used as a pinch runner her first two seasons. Berenter entered her final season with a .190 career batting average but has turned that around, hitting .277 with a team-leading 13 doubles and 32 RBI.



    Junior outfielder Samantha Heyman took home the team's Gold Glove Award. She has 10 outfield assists so far this season and has 18 in her career. She has committed just two errors this season for a .976 fielding percentage. In the Hoosiers win in the first game against Nebraska last weekend, she threw out the potential tying run at the plate and did the same in the bottom of the seventh at Iowa on April 28.

    And the Hoosier Award was presented to senior Heather Nelson. Appearing in 41 games and making eight starts, Nelson has been the first option off the bench this season and is the ultimate team player. She brings excitement and energy to the team no matter what the situation and is a favorite among her teammates.

    2012 Indiana Softball Team Awards
    Most Valuable Player: Amanda Wagner
    Most Outstanding Player: Amanda Wagner
    Pitcher of the Year: Meaghan Murphy and Lora Olson
    Freshman of the Year: Shannon Cawley and Brianna Meyer
    Most Improved Player: Kelsey Brannon and Samantha Berenter
    Gold Glove: Samantha Heyman
    Hoosier Award: Heather Nelson


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties