Hulls, Wagner Recognized As Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    May 30, 2012

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 24 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011-12 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

    The recipients from Indiana University are Jordan Hulls (men's basketball) and Amanda Wagner (softball).

    One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    All of the 2012 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school can be found by clicking here.

    2012 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

    Illinois - Nathan Scheelhaase, Football / Rachel Japp-Joyce, Swimming & Diving
    Indiana - Jordan Hulls, Basketball / Amanda Wagner, Softball
    Iowa - Matt Gatens, Basketball / Betsy Flood, Track and Field
    Michigan - Jordan Kovacs, Football / Courtney Boylan, Basketball
    Michigan State - Kirk Cousins, Football / Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball
    Minnesota - Taylor Matson, Ice Hockey / Anne Schleper, Ice Hockey
    Nebraska - Chris Phipps, Track and Field / Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball
    Northwestern - Sam Chien, Golf / Devynn Patterson, Fencing
    Ohio State - Andrew Sweat, Football / Liz Sullivan, Soccer
    Penn State - Scott Rosenthal, Gymnastics / Natalie Ettl, Gymnastics
    Purdue - Joe Haase, Baseball / Ashley Courtney, Softball
    Wisconsin - Kyle Jefferson, Track and Field / Anya Covington, Basketball




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties