Women's Swimming

    THREE PEAT: Hoosiers Win Third-Straight Big Ten Swim and Dive Title

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Laura Ryan won her first Big Ten title on the platform Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Laura Ryan won her first Big Ten title on the platform Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 19, 2011

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - In one of its most dominating Big Ten Championships performances ever, the Indiana women's swimming and diving team capped things off with a pair of individual titles to win its third-straight Big Ten Championship and its fourth in the last five years.

    Indiana finished with 821 points, 243 points ahead of runner-up Minnesota (578). Ohio State was third (456), Penn State fourth (391) and Purdue rounded out the top five (385.5).

    You can catch all the championship action when the Big Ten Network airs the event on Saturday, Feb. 26 at noon.

    The evening started with the 1,650 freestyle where freshman Lindsay Vrooman took fourth with a career-best and NCAA B time of 16:12.51. Nikki White was sixth in 16:17.22, also a B cut, and Courey Schaefer 18th (16:47.08-career best).

    Taylor Wohrley put up a pair of lifetime bests in the 200 backstroke, going 1:53.70 in the final for a second-place finish. Teammate Ashley Jones was fourth in 1:54.77, also a new lifetime best. Kim Tracey swam the consolation final where she took 11th overall in 1:57.56.

    Indiana put three swimmers in the championship final of the 100 freestyle and were led by Margaux Farrell who touched the wall third in a career-best time of 48.76. Right behind was Brittany Strumbel in fourth, posting her career time of 48.88. Sara Delay picked up 11 points for IU with an eight-place finish of 49.97.

    Already a two-time Big Ten champion at this meet, Allysa Vavra entered the 200 breaststroke with the top qualifying time after setting a new school record in the prelims of 2:09.25. She went on to finish third in the final in a time of 2:09.71.

    Ashley Specht won the 200 breaststroke consolation final after shattering her own career best with a time of 2:13.29. Bronwyn Pasloski was right behind in 10th overall, touching with a new career time of 2:13.79. Brittney Phelan finished 12th (2:14.33-career best) and Katelyn Ishee 13th (2:14.40-career best). All are NCAA provisional times.

    Competing in her final Big Ten championship, senior Brittany Barwegen came through with her first career Big Ten title, winning the 200 butterfly in a time of 1:56.28. Brenna MacLean was the winner of the consolation heat with her career-best time of 1:57.94, while Lindsay Vrooman took 16th (2:01.42).

    Freshman Laura Ryan won her first Big Ten title in the platform diving competition, but it was teammate Amy Cozad who came away with the Big Ten meet record. Ryan won the championship final with a score of 348.55. Amy Cozad won the consolation final with a score of 371.50, the second-highest five-dive total in school history and the new Big Ten meet record. Cozad came back strong after a rough prelims that included a missed dive and a balk.

    Gabby Agostino finished third in the championship final with a score of 325.75, while freshman Kate Hillman was fifth (286.65) and senior Heidi Mahnken sixth (285.10).

    Logan Kline placed 12th with 291.25 points, while Nicole Brehm also set a career mark with 270.80 points, good for 15th place.

    The meet ended with the 400 freestyle relay, as Indiana's team of Strumbel, Delay, Armstrong and Farrell took third in 3:17.03.

    1,650 Freestyle
    4. Lindsay Vrooman - 16:12.51 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    6. Nikki White - 16:17.22 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    18. Courey Schaefer - 16:47.08 (career best)
    24. Laura Head - 17:02.97 (career best)
    29. Justine Jones - 17:21.77 (career best)
    32. Ashley Kranz - 17:38.19

    200 Backstroke
    2. Taylor Wohrley - 1:53.70 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:54.15 prelims)
    4. Ashley Jones - 1:54.77 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:55.19 (prelims)
    11. Kim Tracey - 1:57.56 ((NCAA B Cut) (1:57.56 prelims)

    100 Freestyle
    3. Margaux Farrell - 48.76 (NCAA B Cut; career best (49.05 prelims)
    4. Brittany Strumbel - 48.88 (NCAA B Cut; career best (48.92 prelims)
    8. Sara Delay - 49.97 (49.42 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    17. Stephanie Armstrong - 50.26 (career best) (elected not to swim bonus final)
    49. Guinevere Vanden Noort - 51.95 (career best)

    200 Breaststroke
    3. Allysa Vavra - 2:07.71 (2:09.25 prelims; NCAA A Cut; school record; career best)
    9. Ashley Specht - 2:13.29 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (2:14.51 prelims)
    10. Bronwyn Pasloski - 2:13.79 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (2:14.59 prelims
    12. Brittney Phelan - 2:14.33 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (2:15.27 prelims)
    13. Katelyn Ishee - 2:14.40 (NCAA B Cut; career best0 (2:15.27 prelims)
    25. Afton Robertson - 2:18.63 (career best)

    200 Butterfly
    1. Brittany Barwegen - 1:56.28 (NCAA B Cut; season best) (1:56.70 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    9. Brenna MacLean - 1:57.94 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:59.67 prelims)
    16. Lindsay Vrooman - 2:01.42 (1:59.30; NCAA B Cut; career best)

    Platform Diving
    1. Laura Ryan - 348.55 (311.55 prelims)
    3. Gabby Agostino - 325.75 (351.10 prelims; career best)
    5. Kate Hillman - 286.65 (300.15 prelims; career best)
    6. Heidi Mahnken - 285.10 (349.15 prelims - career best)
    9. Amy Cozad - 371.50 (Big Ten Meet record; career best; 2nd highest total in school history) (240.95 prelims)
    12. Logan Kline - 291.25 (248.10 prelims)
    15. Nicole Brehm - 270.80 (career best) (265.00 prelims)

    400 Freestyle Relay
    3. Indiana - 3:17.03 (Brittany Strumbel, Sara Delay, Stephanie Armstrong, Margaux Farrell) NCAA B Cut; season best

    First Team All-Big Ten
    Brittany Barwegen, Indiana
    Margaux Farrell, Indiana
    Laura Ryan, Indiana
    Brittany Strumbel, Indiana
    Allysa Vavra, Indiana
    Nikki White, Indiana
    Taylor Wohrley, Indiana

    Second Team All-Big Ten
    Ashley Jones, Indiana

    Ray Looze, Indiana




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties