Women's Swimming

    Swim and Dive 2nd at Big Tens

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 22, 2014

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Senior Lindsay Vrooman won her second B1G title in the 1,650 freestyle, sophomore Brooklynn Snodgrass led a 1-2-3-4 finish in the 200 backstroke and freshman Gia Dalesandro smashed the Big Ten Record in the 200 butterfly as the Hoosiers placed second at the 2014 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships in Minneapolis, Minn.

    Minnesota won its third-straight title with a score of 760. The Hoosiers followed with 649 points as Penn State (484), Ohio State (374) and Michigan (361) rounded out the top five.

    Vrooman defended her Big Ten title in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 15:55.20. That is the fourth-fastest time in school history, giving Vrooman all four top times. Haley Lips took seventh with her career best of 16:18.51.Madelon Webb cut 10 seconds off her personal best to finish 19th in 16:32.31. Stephanie Marchuk was 21st in 16:35.79.

    The 200 backstroke was an all-Indiana affair as the Hoosiers had five of the eight slots in the championship final. Snodgrass paced a 1-2-3-4 IU finish with a time of 1:51.43, a career best and the third-fastest time in IU history. Allie Day finished second in 1:54.67, followed by Cynthia Pammett in third (1:55.20) and Justine Ress fourth (1:55.27). Dorina Szekeres placed seventh in a time of 1:56.30.

    Shelby Carroll put up a time of 1:57.20 in the consolation final to finish 12th overall. Grace Padget took 24th after swimming the bonus final in 2:04.91.

    Kait Flederbach added her name to the IU record book yet again, clocking a 48.54 to finish third in the 100 free, the fastest time in school history. In prelims she put up the third-fastest time on record for IU with a 48.86. Stephanie Armstrong went 50.30 to finish 28th. Audrey Scott put up a career best in heat two, finishing in 53.18, which was good for 84th.

    Bronwyn Pasloski capped her Big Ten career with a lifetime best in the 200 breaststroke, finishing third in 2:09.69. In prelims she took second in her heat and qualified third overall for the championship final with a time of 2:11.14. Swimming together in heat three, Claudia DiCapua and Rachel Thompson both put up career marks with Di Capua coming in at 2:20.31, and Thompson at 2:20.54. Di Capua finished 30th overall, with Thompson 33rd.

    Dalesandro posted her second school butterfly record of the meet with a 1:53.95 in the 200 fly championship final. That topped the previous Big Ten record by nearly a second and is an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Her prelim mark of 1:55.29 is the third fastest in IU history.

    Brenna MacLean picked up a bronze medal with her time of 1:56.84, an NCAA B cut. Freshman Olivia Barker made her first Big Ten championship final, finishing fifth in 1:57.47. She went a career best 1:57.14 in prelims. Bailey Pressey finished third in the B final and 11th overall with her career best of 1:58.24.

    Kate Hillman took home the silver medal in the platform diving competition as she tallied a career-best score of 322.25 for best ever finish at the Big Ten Championships.

    In the 400 freestyle relay nightcap, Flederbach, Pammett, Armstrong and Snodgrass took fourth by topping their own school record by 2/100ths of a second with a 3:16.70.

    Dalesandro was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, the second-straight freshman of the year award for a Hoosier, with Snodgrass winning it in 2013. Flederbach, Pasloski, Snodgrass and Vrooman joined Dalesandro on the All-Big Ten first team.

    Earning All-Big Ten second team honors were Day, Hillman, Lips and Pammett.

    A group of Hoosiers will return to the University of Minnesota March 20-22 for the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

    1,650 Freestyle
    1. Lindsay Vrooman - 15:55.20 (Fourth-fastest time in school history; NCAA A Cut)
    7. Haley Lips - 16:18.51 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    19. Madelon Webb - 16:32.31 (Career Best)
    21. Stephanie Marchuk - 16:35.79 (Career Best)

    200 Backstroke
    1. Brooklynn Snodgrass - 1:51.43 (Career Best; third-fastest time in IU history; NCAA A Cut) (1:52.49 prelims)
    2. Allie Day - 1:54.67 (NCAA B Cut) (1:55.29 prelims)
    3. Cynthia Pammett - 1:55.20 (1:54.67 prelims; NCAA B Cut)
    4. Justine Ress - 1:55.27 (NCAA B Cut) (1:56.52 prelims)
    7. Dorina Szekeres - 1:56.30 (1:56.19 prelims; NCAA B Cut)
    12. Shelby Carroll - 1:57.20 (NCAA B Cut) (1:57.97 prelims)
    24. Grace Padget - 2:04.91 (1:59.27 prelims; Career Best)

    100 Freestyle
    3. Kait Flederbach - 48.54 (School Record; NCAA B Cut) (48.86 prelims; Third-fastest time in IU history)
    28. Stephanie Armstrong - 50.30
    84. Audrey Scott - 53.18 (Career Best)

    200 Breaststroke
    3. Bronwyn Pasloski - 2:09.69 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (2:11.14 prelims)
    30. Claudia Di Capua - 2:20.31 (Career Best)
    33. Rachel Thompson - 2:20.54 (Career Best)

    200 Butterfly
    1. Gia Dalesandro - 1:53.95 (Big Ten Record; NCAA A Cut) (1:55.29 prelims; third-fastest time in IU history)
    3. Brenna MacLean - 1:56.84 (NCAA B Cut) (1:58.23 prelims)
    5. Olivia Barker - 1:57.47 (1:57.14 prelims; Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    11. Bailey Pressey - 1:58.24 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (1:59.18 prelims)

    Platform Diving
    2. Kate Hillman - 322.25 (Career Best) (303.00 prelims)

    400 Freestyle Relay
    4. Kait Flederbach, Cynthia Pammett, Stephanie Armstrong, Brooklynn Snodgrass - 3:16.70 (School Record; NCAA A Cut)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties