Women's Swimming

    More Champs Crowned on Final Day of B1G Meet

    Go Hoosiers! Amy Cozad celebrates her record-setting performance on the platform Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Amy Cozad celebrates her record-setting performance on the platform Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 23, 2013

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Three more Hoosiers took home the title of Big Ten Champion to cap off a strong Hoosier showing at the 2013 Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships at the University Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

    Indiana added Big Ten titles in the 1,650 freestyle, 200 backstroke and platform diving. The Hoosiers finished second with 671.5 points, with Minnesota taking the crown at 831.5 points. Penn State was third (498.5), Ohio State fourth (384) and Purdue rounded out the top five (363).

    Lindsay Vrooman smashed the school record in the 1,650 freestyle, winning her second-straight Big Ten title in the event with a time of 15:51.20. That is a new Big Ten meet record and more than five seconds faster than the previous IU mark of 15:56.50 set by Allison Kay in 2009. Vrooman becomes the first Hoosiers ever to win back-to-back 1,650 freestyle races and gives the Hoosiers just their third-ever win in the race.

    Freshman Taylor O'Brien took fourth with a personal best of 16:10.28, while Madelon Webb finished in the points at 16th with her personal best of 16:42.19. Guinevere Vanden Noort was 34th after clocking a PR of 17:20.07.

    Freshman Brooklynn Snodgrass made it a backstroke sweep, winning the 200 back in a personal best of 1:51.77. That is the fourth-fastest time in IU history and cements her spot at the NCAA Championships. Cynthia Pammett made it a 1-2 sweep for IU with a time of 1:53.58. Allie Day was fifth (1:55.47), Dorina Szekeres sixth (1:55.61) and Justine Ress seventh (1:55.83). Competing in the bonus final, Shelby Carroll placed 19th overall with a career time of 1:57.61.

    In prelims, Snodgrass topped the field with her time 1:51.99. That is the fifth-fastest time in IU history. Pammett earned the second seed after posting a 1:53.22. Szekeres blew past the field over the final 50 yards to win her heat in a career time of 1:54.72, good for the third seed. Day easily won her heat with an NCAA B cut of of 1:55.19, finishing fifth. Ress touched the wall second in heat seven with a time of 1:55.66, putting her seventh. Carroll placed second in her heat and 23rd overall with a time of 1:58.39. Alexis Bullard went a career-best 2:03.45 to finish fourth in her heat and 46th overall.

    Sara Delay placed 24th in the 100 free with a time of 50.71 in the bonus final. She posted a time of 50.37 in prelims. Stephanie Armstrong finished 34th in 50.52, with Allie Lamberson posting a career time of 53.47 (73rd).

    Ashley Specht pushed her way to a career best in the 200 breaststroke, placing third in a time of 2:09.42. That is the fourth-fastest time in school history. Bronwyn Pasloski touched the wall fifth, putting up her career best of 2:11.06. Freshman Siri Kristiansen took seventh in her first Big Ten championship final, clocking a 2:14.24.

    Madeline Maher won the consolation final, finishing ninth overall with a career time of 2:12.46.

    Specht raced to a time of 2:10.19, good for second in the heat and third overall in prelims. Pasloski was third in the same heat with a time of 2:12.21, placing her sixth in the field. Kristiansen knocked almost 10 seconds off her seed time to win her heat in 2:13.06, seventh overall in the field. Maher went 2:13.95 to finish second in her heat and 10th overall, good for a spot in the consolation final. Rachel Thompson was 36th in the field with a career-best time of 2:20.60.

    Freshman Haley Lips picked up a bronze in the 200 butterfly after going a career best 1:57.11 in the championship final. Brenna MacLean touched the wall seventh, coming in at 1:58.12. MacLean went into the final as the fourth overall qualifier at 1:58.07. Right behind her in the fifth spot was Lips, who went 1:58.30 in the morning session.

    It was a record-setting night for senior Amy Cozad as she capped her Big Ten career with her first conference title, winning the platform competition with a Big Ten-record score of 390.05. That tops the old mark of 388.95 set by former Hoosier Amy Korthauer in 2009. It also bested Cozad's own Big Ten meet record of 371.50 set in 2011. Kate Hillman also made the championship final, where she finished eighth with a score of 288.90.

    Cassidy Kahn finished 16th on the platform with a score of 257.35. She qualified for the consolation final after posting a career-best score of 270.30 in prelims. Katie Bittner placed 29th in the field with a score of 188.35.

    The evening ended with the 400 freestyle relay as Pammett, Snodgrass, Vrooman and Armstrong put up the fifth-fastest time in school history with a 3:18.76, finishing sixth.

    Snodgrass was honored as the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Vrooman was named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships after leading all scorers with 56 points.

    200 Backstroke
    1. Brooklynn Snodgrass - 1:51.77 (NCAA A Cut; fourth-fastest time in school history) (1:51.99 prelims; 5th-fastest time in IU history)
    2. Cynthia Pammett - 1:53.58 (1:53.22 prelims; NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    5. Allie Day - 1:55.47 (1:55.19 prelims; NCAA B Cut)
    6. Dorina Szekeres - 1:55.61 (1:54.92 prelims; Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    7. Justine Ress - 1:55.83 (1:55.66 prelims; NCAA B Cut)
    19. Shelby Carroll - 1:57.61 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (1:58.39 prelims)
    46. Alexis Bullard - 2:03.45 (Career Best)

    100 Freestyle
    24. Sara Delay - 50.71 (50.37 prelims)
    34. Stephanie Armstrong - 50.52
    73. Allie Lamberson - 53.47 (Career Best)

    200 Breaststroke
    3. Ashley Specht - 2:09.42 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut; 4th-fastest time in school history) (2:10.19 prelims)
    5. Bronwyn Pasloski - 2:11.06 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (2:12.21 prelims)
    7. Siri Kristiansen - 2:14.24 (2:13.06 prelims; NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    9. Madeline Maher - 2:12.46 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (2:13.95 prelims)
    36. Rachel Thompson - 2:20.60 (Career Best)

    200 Butterfly
    3. Haley Lips - 1:57.11 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (1:58.30 prelims)
    7. Brenna MacLean - 1:58.12 (1:58.07 prelims; NCAA B Cut)

    1,650 Freestyle
    1. Lindsay Vrooman - 15:51.20 (Big Ten Meet Record; School Record; NCAA A Cut)
    4. Taylor O'Brien - 16:10.28 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    16. Madelon Webb - 16:42.19 (Career Best)
    34. Guinevere Vanden Noort - 17:20.07 (Career Best)

    Platform Diving
    1. Amy Cozad - 390.05 (New Big Ten Record) (334.60 prelims)
    8. Kate Hillman - 288.90 (299.20 prelims)
    16. Cassidy Kahn - 257.35 (270.30 prelims; Career Best)
    29. Katie Bittner - 188.35 (Career Best)

    400 Freestyle Relay
    6. (Cynthia Pammett, Brooklynn Snodgrass, Lindsay Vrooman, Stephanie Armstrong) - 3:18.76 (NCAA B Cut; fifth-fastest time in school history)

    All-Big Ten
    First Team
    Amy Cozad
    Haley Lips
    Cynthia Pammett
    Brooklynn Snodgrass
    Dorina Szekeres
    Lindsay Vrooman

    Second Team
    Sara Delay
    Brenna MacLean
    Ashley Specht

    IU High Point Scorer
    Lindsay Vrooman

    Big Ten Freshman of the Year
    Brooklynn Snodgrass

    Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships
    Lindsay Vrooman




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties