Women's Swimming

    Day 1 of NCAA Zone Diving

    Go Hoosiers! Laura Ryan was eighth in Thursday's 1-meter springboard competition.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Laura Ryan was eighth in Thursday's 1-meter springboard competition.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 8, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana University divers Darian Schmidt and Zac Nees have punched their tickets to the NCAA Championships thanks to their performance this afternoon at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships held at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington.

    The diving action continues tomorrow beginning at 1 p.m. ET with the women's 3-meter and men's 1-meter springboard events. Four spots remain up for grabs on both sides.

    Schmidt continued his outstanding form from the Big Ten Championships, where he won the 3-meter title, winning today's event with a score of 769.90.  Schmidt's prelim score of 386.10 had him as the second qualifier by 3/10ths of a point heading into the final round. With prelim scores carrying over, Schmidt tallied a score of 383.80 in finals to earn his trip to Federal Way, Wash. for the NCAA Championships, March 22-24.

    Joining him in the Seattle suburbs in two weeks will be teammate Nees. Nees took third with a score of 753.15. He put up a number of 357.15 in prelims, and then came roaring back with the highest score of the day in finals at 396.00. Ohio State's Shane Miszkiel finished second to take the other NCAA spot.

    The Hoosier women are still looking to earn an NCAA spot, as they did not finish high enough to take any of the three qualifying places in today's 1-meter springboard competition. Gabby Agostino led the way with a seventh-place finish, tallying 573.85 points. Laura Ryan was just four points behind in eighth (569.65), with Kate Hillman 10th (560.35).

    Amy Cozad also qualified for the final round, where she placed 14th with a score of 529.80. Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez, Notre Dame's Jennifer Chiang and Eastern Michigan's Kelly Hendricks picked up the three qualifying spots.

    *1. Darian Schmidt, Indiana University, Bloomington, 769.90
    *3. Zac Nees, Indiana University, Bloomington, 753.15
    7. Conor Murphy, Indiana University, Bloomington, 689.30
    12. Bryce Ogden, Indiana University, Bloomington, 651.80
    14. Casey Johnson, Indiana University, Bloomington, 624.45
    18. Mick Dell'Orco, Indiana University, Bloomington, 510.80
    24. Emad Abdelatif, Indiana University, Bloomington, 281.10
    28. Danton Rogers, Indiana University, Bloomington, 276.30
    35. Connor Brisson, Indiana University, Bloomington, 263.20
    *NCAA Championships qualifier

    7. Gabby Agostino, Indiana University, Bloomington, 573.85
    8. Laura Ryan, Indiana University, Bloomington, 569.65
    10. Kate Hillman, Indiana University, Bloomington, 560.35
    14. Amy Cozad, Indiana University, Bloomington, 529.80
    23. Christina Kouklakis, Indiana University, Bloomington, 251.20
    28. Cassidy Kahn, Indiana University, Bloomington, 242.15




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties