Women's Swimming

    Hillman Nabs Spot at NCAA Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Kate Hillman will compete at her second NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Kate Hillman will compete at her second NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 15, 2014

    COLUMBUS, Ohio - Indiana University senior Kate Hillman will join the Hoosier women at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships after finishing second on the platform at the NCAA Zone C Championships in Columbus, Ohio Saturday.

    Hillman secured her spot in Minneapolis after finishing second on the platform with a score of 587.60. Hillman was in second place after prelims, posting a score of 283.85 for the first five rounds.

    The Indiana men were unable to grab any of the final two berths up for grabs on the men's side. Andrew Hull finished one spot out of qualifying, taking third with a score of 684.40. Danton Rogers was fourth (679.70), with Conor Murphy fifth (674.75). George Andrews took 12th in the field (554.80).

    Earlier in the competition Darian Schmidt and Emad Abdelatif earned spots at the men's NCAA Championships, March 27-29 in Austin Texas. Schmidt won the 3-meter competition, while Abdelatif won the 1-meter title.

    Eight men and nine women from Zone C qualified for the NCAA Championships. Below is the order of priority for earning a spot at the NCAA meet. Those in bold earned a spot.

    1. Winner of Platform - Mackenzie Tweardy, Purdue/Nathan Cox, Purdue
    2. Winner of Three-meter - Darian Schmidt, Indiana/Kaixuan Zhang, Southern, Ill.
    3. Winner of One-meter - Casey Matthews, Purdue/Emad Abdelatif, Indiana
    4. Second-place Three-meter - Jamie Bissett, Purdue/Christa Cabot, Kentucky
    5. Second-place One-meter - Wenting Zhang, Illinois St./Layne Rogers, Purdue
    6. Third-place Three-meter - Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky/Michelle Cabassol, Purdue

    7. Third-place One-meter - Kaixuan Zhang, Southern Ill./Joseph Coumos, ND
    8. Second-place Platform - Kate Hillman, Indiana/Sean Mokhtari, Purdue

    9. Fourth-place Three-meter - Stephen Ettienne, Ohio St./Tricia Grant, Oakland
    10. Fourth-place One-meter - Christa Cabot, Kentucky/Jamie Bissett, Purdue
    11. Fifth-place Three-meter - Joseph Coumos, Notre Dame/Wenting Zhang, Illinois St.
    12. Third-place Platform - Carey Chen, Michigan/Andrew Hull, Indiana



    Men's 1-Meter
    3. Andrew Hull - 684.40 (325.30 prelims)
    4. Danton Rogers - 679.70 (347.65 prelims)
    5. Conor Murphy - 674.75 (332.75 prelims)
    12. George Andrews - 554.80 (302.95 prelims)

    Women's Platform
    2. Kate Hillman - 587.60 (283.85 prelims)


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties