Women's Tennis

    Hoosiers Down Iowa, 5-2

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Laura McGaffigan earned wins at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Laura McGaffigan earned wins at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 23, 2007


    IOWA CITY, Iowa - The No. 38 Indiana Hoosiers defeated No. 55 Iowa, 5-2, in a Big Ten Conference match on Friday, March 23.

    Indiana began the match with a win at the doubles point. The team of Alba Berdala and Laura McGaffigan defeated Jacqueline Lee and Mili Veselinovic at No. 1, 8-3. At No. 2 doubles, Sigrid Fischer and Cecile Perton earned an 8-3 win over Hillary Mintz and Merel Beelen, 8-3. Stephanie Heller and Brianna Williams also won at No. 3 doubles.

    The Hoosiers took four out of six singles matches to clinch the victory. McGaffigan won in a tiebreaker at No. 2, defeating Veselinovic, 7-6, 2-6, 1-0 (7). Fischer defeated Mintz at No. 3, 6-2, 6-1, while Williams also won at No. 4, 6-4, 6-3, over Kayla Berry. Perton downed Kelcie Klockenga at No. 5, 6-2, 6-4.

    "This was a really good win for us, considering we were probably at 80 percent with everyone being sick last week," head coach Lin Loring said. "We only had one good day of practice last week because of the illness going around the team. Sigrid and Cecile did a great job, even though they still feel terrible."

    Indiana returns to the court on Sunday, March 25, at Minnesota. Action begins at 11 a.m.

    No. 38 Indiana 5, No. 55 Iowa 2
    1. Jacqueline Lee (Iowa) def. Alba Berdala (Indiana), 6-, 6-4.
    2. Laura McGaffigan (Indiana) def. Mili Veselinovic (Iowa), 7-6, 2-6, 1-0 (10-7).
    3. Sigrid Fischer (Indiana) def. Hillary Mintz (Iowa), 6-2, 6-1.
    4. Brianna Williams (Indiana) def. Kayla Berry (Iowa), 6-4, 6-3.
    5. Cecile Perton (Indiana) def. Kelcie Klockenga (Iowa), 6-2, 6-4.
    6. Merel Beelen (Iowa) def. Lindsey Stuckey (Indiana), 6-4, 2-6, 1-0 (10-8).
    1. Berdala/McGaffigan (Indiana) def. Lee/Veselinovic (Iowa), 8-3.
    2. Fischer/Perton (Indiana) def. Mintz/Beelen (Iowa), 8-3.
    3. Heller/Williams (Indiana) def. Berry/Klockenga (Iowa), 8-3.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties