Women's Tennis

    Hoosier Duo Heads to NCAA Doubles Tournament

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    News Update

    May 16, 2002

    Hoosier Duo Heads to NCAA Doubles Championship

    Current News Photo
    Karie Schlukebir and Linda Tran became the 20th Hoosier duo to qualify for the NCAA Doubles Championship.
    NCAA Doubles Tournament Information
    The Indiana duo of junior Karie Schlukebir and sophomore Linda Tran became the 20th IU women’s doubles team to be selected to for the NCAA doubles championship. The team will take part in a 32 team single elimination tournament featuring 32 of the top doubles teams in the nation. The scoring will be a regular eight point pro set match. The doubles tournament will be played on the campus of Stanford University May 21-May 25. Brackets and times are yet to be announced, check iuhoosiers.com for updates.

    Doubles Tournament Schedule
    5-21 Round of 32 @ 1:30 pm
    5-21 Round of 32 @ 3:30 pm
    5-22 Round of 16 @ 1:30 pm
    5-22 Round of 16 @ 3:30 pm
    5-23 Quarterfinals (following singles)
    5-24 Semifinals (following singles)
    5-25 Finals (following singles)
    • all at the Taube Tennis Center, Stanford, Cal.

    Ticket Information

    All Tournament Pass - 10-day Pass (May 16-25)
    • Box Seats (F, G, & H) $ 90.00
    • Reserved (E, J, & K) $ 60.00
    • General Admission: Adult $ 45.00
    • G.A.: Student/Youth/Senior $ 30.00

    Individual Competition - Six-Day Pass (May 20-25)
    • Reserved (E, J, & K) $ 35.00
    • General Admission: Adult $ 25.00
    • G.A.: Student/Youth/Senior $ 20.00
    go to http://gostanford.fansonly.com/sports/w-tennis/ncaa2002/tickets.html or call 1-800-STANFORD

    List of Doubles Participants
    Hillary Adams/ Kelly McCain Duke
    Jessyca Arthur/ Candice Fuchs William and Mary
    Lauren Barnikow/ Erin Burdette Stanford
    Millie Begovic/ Weyli Chang Alabama
    Janet Bergman/ Bea Bielik Wake Forest
    Kathy Boyanovich/Jennifer Radman South Carolina
    Megan Bradley/ Lauren Fisher UCLA
    Tiffany Brymer/ Jewel Peterson USC
    Claire Carter/ Darjia Klaic Washington
    Vilmarie Castellvi/ Agnes Wiski Tennessee
    Agata Cioroch/ Lori Grey Georgia
    Bruna Colosio/ Rocio Fantilli LSU
    Katie Cunha/ Lindsey Green Notre Dame
    Lindsay Dawaf/ Jessica Lehnhoff Florida
    Julie DeRoo/ Amanda Johnson Duke
    Adria Engel/ Dora Krstulovic Arizona State
    Linda Faltynkova/
    Katarzyna Kolodynska Oklahoma St.
    Ziva Grasic/ Vladka Uhlirova Texas
    Ashley Hedberg/ Jessica Roland Texas A&M
    Lauren Kalvaria/ Gabriela Lastra Stanford
    Raquel Kops-Jones/ Jody Scheldt California
    Manon Kruse/ Stacy Varnell Middle Tenn.
    Debbie Larocque/ Maja Mlakar Arizona
    Helen Lawson/ Renate Stoop Boise State
    Anita Loyola/ Luana Magnani USC
    Petya Marinova/ Sara Walker UCLA
    Carolina Mayorga/ Sarah Witten Kentucky
    Stacy McKenna/ Erica Perkins Wash. State
    Martina Nedelkova/ Andrea Ondrisova VCU
    Kim Niggemeyer/ Simone Jardim Fresno State
    Sarah Riske/ Aleke Tsoubanos Vanderbilt
    Karie Schlukebir/ Linda Tran Indiana

    Alternates (listed in order):
    Carolina Maurer/ Katia Illarinova Auburn
    Paty Aburto/ Rosa Perez TCU
    Alesia Mikalayeva/ Liina Suurvarik Illinois State
    Marine Piriou/ Jessica Rush Northwestern

    Against the Field
    Schlukebir and Tran have a 3-4 record against team in the NCAA Doubles Tournament and alternates for the tournament.. Here is a look at the results of those matches:

    Date Team Score
    10-29-01 Alexia Mikalayeva/Liina Suurvarik, Illinois St L, 8-5.
    11-9-01 Ashley Hedberg/Jessica Roland, Texas A&M L, 8-0
    11-9-01 Debbie Larocque/Maja Mlakar, Arizona W, 8-4
    2-17-02 Vilamrie Castellvi/Agnes Wiski, Tennessee L, 8-4
    3-1-02 Alexia Mikalayeva/Liina Suurvarik, Illinois St L, 8-6
    3-24-02 Hillary Adams/ Kelly McCain, Duke W, 9-8
    5-11-02 Carolina Maurer/Katia Illarinova, Auburn W, 8-0

    One for the Records
    With their second place finish in the Omni Hotel Region IV Championships this fall, junior Karie Schlukebir and sophomore Linda Tran became the first Hoosiers doubles pair to advance to the finals since 1994. Seven years ago, second seeded Rachel Epstein and Jody Yin won the championship, defeating No. 1 seeded Lisa Tholen and Wendy Crabtree of Notre Dame.

    Streaks Alive
    Tran and Schlukebir have won their last 14 matches in helping the Hoosiers win 11 straight doubles points during the dual season. After starting the Big Ten season 0-2, the duo reeled off eight straight regular season conference victories. They then picked up two in the Big Ten Tournament.

    Schlukebir Picks Up National Honor
    Karie Schlukebir, a cancer survivor, was honored with the Wilma Rudolph Student Athlete Achievement Award from the National Association of Academic Advisors for Athletics.
    The award is intended to honor five to 10 young men and women who have overcome great personal, academic, and/or emotional odds to achieve academic success while participating in intercollegiate athletic.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties