Women's Tennis

    Indiana Hosts ITA Summer Circuit

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    News Update

    July 23, 2003

    Indiana to Host ITA Midwest Summer Circuit

    1!-- ... -->

    Bloomington, Ind.-- The fourth week of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit Midwest Region will take place at Indiana University beginning Saturday, July 26, through Tuesday, July 29. Play consists of a women’s and men’s draw of collegiate players as well as junior players and the general public. Matches will be played on the IU Varsity Courts and begin Saturday at 2:30 p.m., Sunday at 8:30 a.m. and Monday and Tuesday at 9 a.m.

    The Hoosiers’ tandem of Karie Schlukebir Linda Tran are two of the six IU men’s and women’s players slated to compete. Joining them will be freshmen Dora Vastag and Kara Zeder, junior Ryan Recht and sophomore Ryan Stone. Schlukebir and Tran finished ranked sixth in the Midwest. The duo saw limited action together with Schlukebir missing part of the season. The tandem did go 17-7 overall and 5-3 in the Big Ten. Both players sit in the top 10 of the Hoosiers' career doubles wins list and Big Ten wins list. Tran is tied for fifth on the career list with 91 victories, while Schlukebir is eighth with 88 wins. Schlukebir trails Tran by one spot on the Big Ten wins list as she is fifth with 24 career wins. Tran is fourth with 26 career Big Ten wins. The duo was ranked 28th by the ITA at one point during the season.

    Indiana head women’s tennis coach Lin Loring developed the concept of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit in 1993. It is made up of five regional circuits (East, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest, and West) for collegiate players and is open to junior players and the general public. Each region consists of four consecutive tournaments played during the month of July. Indiana has hosted a regional every year since it’s inception in 1993.

    The ITA National Summer Championships, presented by the USTA, is the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit. This year’s tournament takes place August 9-13 at Indiana University. This will be the third straight year Indiana has hosted the Championship. Champions from this tournament gain wild cards into the Icy Hot/ITA Men’s and Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships in October, the first national tournaments of the 2003-04 collegiate tennis season.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties