Women's Tennis

    ITA National Summer Championship Draws

    Go Hoosiers! Five (three men, two women) Hoosier tennis players are scheduled to play in this weekend's national event
    Go Hoosiers!
    Five (three men, two women) Hoosier tennis players are scheduled to play in this weekend's national event
    Go Hoosiers!

    Aug. 10, 2007

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Summer Championships open this Saturday at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center.

    ITA National Women's Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    ITA National Men's Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Five student-athletes will represent IU at this year's competition. Erin Clark and Lindsey Stuckey will play from the women's team, while Jai Yoon, Peter Antons and Santiago Gruter will compete from IU men's team.

    First Round Matchups For IU Players
    Stuckey vs. Bianca Aboubakare (Brown)
    Clark vs. Danielle Abraham (Boston Univeristy)
    Antons vs. Kyle Donnett (Cornell)
    Gruter vs. Charlie Drew (North Carolina State)
    Yoon vs. Daniel Vidal (Ball State)

    The ITA National Summer Championships presented by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) are the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, which was played at 23 regional sites throughout the country last month. A record 2,624 players participated in ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit events last year, breaking the record of 2,465 set in 2005.

    Over 20,000 men and women have competed in circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit is the brainchild of Indiana head women's tennis coach Lin Loring and provides college tennis players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. It is made up of six regional circuits (East, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Southwest and West) and each region consists of four consecutive tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the ITA National Summer Championships.

    This week's top four men's seeds are: Dominic Inglot (Virginia), Will Gray (Tulsa), Mariusz Adamski (Wake Forest), and Amrit Narasimham (Memphis). The top four women's seeds are: Lindsay Burdette (Stanford), Amanda Taylor (Vanderbilt), Imke Reimers (Nebraska), and Kellie Schmitt (Marshall).

    The singles and doubles champions from the ITA National Summer Championships earn wild cards into the first national tournaments of the 2007-08 collegiate tennis season - the Polo Ralph Lauren Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships in October.

    The ITA National Summer Championships include men's and women's singles and doubles and mixed doubles. Beier Ko from Harvard and Jordan DeLass from Georgia Tech captured last year's singles titles in Bloomington. Past tournament finalists include current touring pros: Amer Delic (Illinois), Julie Ditty (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Russell (Purdue), K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford), Jim Thomas (Stanford) and Brian Vahaly (Virginia).

    This is the seventh straight year IU is serving as tournament host (admission is free). IU assistant women's tennis coach Ramiro Azcui is serving as tournament director.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties