Women's Tennis

    ITA National Day Three Results, Finals Scheduled For Tuesday

    Go Hoosiers! Lindsey Stuckey
    Go Hoosiers!
    Lindsey Stuckey
    Go Hoosiers!

    Aug. 13, 2007

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Click below for updated brackets of the ITA National Summer Collegiate Circuit through the first three days of competition. Final results will be posted right here at iuhoosiers.com and itatennis.com after the completion of the finals on Tuesday.

    Women's Main Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Men's Main Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Women's Back Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Men's Back Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Women's Doubles Draw in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Men's Doubles Draw Complete Release in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Indiana's Santiago Gruter has strung together four consecutive wins in the men's back draw to advance to the semifinals of the consolation bracket.

    After an exciting day full of upsets and tough battles, four men and four women remain standing in the singles bracket. The doubles have whittled down to the finalists, with four pairs left standing at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Summer Championships at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center.

    The ITA National Summer Championships presented by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) are the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, which was played at 23 regional sites throughout the country last month. This year, 2,589 players have participated, the second highest participation total ever, just shy of last year's record of 2,624.

    On the men's side, the Big 10 proved to be the conference to beat, as three Michigan players and one Ohio State player upset some of the top seeds to advance. Dominic Ozanne (Ohio State) upset No. 1 seed Dominic Inglot of Virginia in the round of 16, beating him 7-5, 7-5 to advance to the quarterfinals. But there, he met with No. 8 seed Michael Sroczynoski (Michigan), who came out on top, 7-5, 7-5. Sroczynoski is one of only two top-eight seeds left in the tournament. No. 3 seed Marius Adamski from Wake Forest was upset by Michigan's Geroge Navas, who won a hard-fought battle, 2-6, 6-4, 10-6 to advance to the quarterfinals. There, Navas fell to Chris Racz from Tennessee. Racz, who had upset No. 5 seed Houston Barrick (Virigina), 6-4, 4-6, 10-7 to advance to the quarterfinal round, beat Navas soundly, 6-1, 6-3, to earn his spot in the semifinal match. Racz will face off against No. 2 seed Will Gray from Tulsa, who is the highest seed left standing in the men's bracket. Gray beat Illinois' Billy Heiser in the quarterfinals, 3-6, 7-5, 10-4. The last top seed to fall was Amrit Narasimhan (Memphis), the No. 4 seed. He fell in the round of 16 to Michigan's Michael DePietro, 7-5, 6-3. DePietro's run was put to a halt by Florida State's Chris Cloer, who won 6-3, 6-4, to earn his spot in the semis. Cloer will face off against Sroczynoski and Racz will face off against Gray in the semifinals tomorrow, with the championship match to be played immediately following.

    The semifinals on the women's side feature two of the top seeds, while all four players came into the tournament in the top 16. Notre Dame's Brooke Buck will try and make her second finals appearance in as many years, as she advanced to the semifinals today with two huge wins. In her first match of the day, Buck faced off against Harvard's Beier Ko, in a rematch of last year's final. But the results were different this year, as Buck pulled out with the win (7-6, ret.). In the quarterfinals match, she faced off against No. 3 seed Imke Reimers from Nebraska. In a battle for every point, Buck came out on top, 4-6, 6-1, 13-11. She will face off against No. 2 seed Amanda Taylor (Vanderbilt) in the semis. Taylor beat LSU's Mykala Hedberg, 6-2, 7-6 to advance. No. 4 seed Kellie Schimtt of Marshall also advanced to the semis, with wins over Jaqueline Lee (Iowa) and Bianca Aboubakare (Brown). Schmitt will be taking on William and Mary's Ragini Acharya, a formidable opponent who beat two of the top eight seeds to make it to the semis. In the round of 16, Acharya upset No. 1 seed Lindsey Burdette of Stanford, 6-4, 6-2. In her next match, she had to take on No. 6 seed Melissa Mang from Duke, but beat her easily as well, 6-3, 6-2. The women's semifinals and championship matches will take place tomorrow, with times to be determined.

    The women's doubles bracket was full of upsets as well, with two pairs remaining to take part in the finals tomorrow: Melissa Mang (Duke) and Tory Zawacki (Duke) will face off against Princeton's Taylor Marable and Rebecca Parks. Mang and Zawacki had one of the biggest wins of the day, as they upset the No. 1 seed in the semifinals. Mang and Zawacki beat Keri Robinson and Lauren Lui from Northwestern, 9-8(4), to earn their spot in the championship. But Marable and Parks had their own share of upsets on their way to the finals. Their upsets began in the second round, where they upset the No. 3 seed of Imke Reimers (Nebraska) and Whitney McCray (Georgia Tech), 9-8(10). In the quarterfinals, the pair faced off against No. 5 seeds, Erin Clark and Lindsey Stuckey, of the host institution, Indiana. Marable and Parks won, 8-6 to advance. In the semifinals, they took on Kirsten Gambrell (DePaul) and Neela Vaez (unattached), winning 8-4 to make the championship match, which will be played tomorrow.

    The men's doubles competition was less of a surprise, with the Nos. 1 and 2 seeds advancing to the finals. Dominic Inglot and Houston Barrick of Virginia, the top seed in the bracket, will take on Sasha Ermakov and Ashwin Kumar from Harvard, who are seeded No. 2. Both pairs had tough matches in the semifinals, but emerged unscathed. Barrick and Inglot took on Spencer Heflin (Memphis) and Bo Ladyman (Furman), winning by a close 9-7. Ermakov and Kumar faced off against Marius Adamski (Wake Forest) and Ted Kelly (Stanford), winning 9-8(5) to earn their spot in the championship.

    The singles and doubles champions from the ITA National Summer Championships earn wild cards into the first national tournaments of the 2007-08 collegiate tennis season - the Polo Ralph Lauren Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships in October.

    The ITA National Summer Championships include men's and women's singles and doubles and mixed doubles. Former Georgia Tech player Jordan DeLass (now at Samford) and Harvard's Beier Ko captured last year's singles titles in Bloomington. Past tournament finalists include current touring pros: Amer Delic (Illinois), Julie Ditty (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Russell (Purdue), K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford), Jim Thomas (Stanford) and Brian Vahaly (Virginia).

    This is the seventh straight year IU is serving as tournament host (admission is free).

    Over 22,000 men and women have competed in circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit is the brainchild of Indiana head women's tennis coach Lin Loring and provides college tennis players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. It is made up of six regional circuits (East, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Southwest and West) and each region consists of four consecutive tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the ITA National Summer Championships.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties