Women's Tennis

    25th Anniversary of '82 National Champion Women's Tennis Team

    Go Hoosiers! Head Coach Lin Loring
    Go Hoosiers!
    Head Coach Lin Loring
    Go Hoosiers!

    Aug. 29, 2007

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The 1982 National Champion women's tennis team will be honored at this Saturday's home football game. This year marks the 25-Year Anniversary of that memorable season for the Hoosier women's tennis team.

    That group of players amassed an amazing Big Ten record of 103-1 during their careers as Hoosiers. Indiana defeated North Carolina, Texas and California en route to the National Championship.

    "I'm real excited to see everyone," said current and '82 National Champion women's tennis coach Lin Loring. "This was a special group of women. Besides winning Indiana's first and only women's national title, they made Big Ten and Indiana history by going 103-1 in Big Ten play during their careers. They were simply one of the most dominant group of athletes that Indiana will ever see, in any sport."

    Five of the student-athletes received All-Big Ten honors that season while two (Heather Crowe and Tracy Hoffman) earned All-American laurels. Crowe was also rewarded the Honda/Broderick Award, given to the nation's most outstanding female collegiate athlete. Loring's exceptional efforts were recognized across the country as well when he was named the National Coach of the Year. Assistant Coach, Nancy Stephenson Carrol, an '81 IU alum, helped guide the Hoosiers in that magical season after playing four years at the university. The complete list of student-athletes on the '82 National Championship team include:

    Bev Ramser Ellington
    Heather Crowe Connor
    Jenny Snyder Reifeis
    Marianne Guiney Christian
    Tracy Hoffman Hirsberg
    Diana McCormick Bassett
    Anne Hutchens Gottfried




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties