Women's Tennis

    Q&A with Christina Solli (9-12-02)

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    News Update

    September 12, 2002

    Meet Christina Solli

    1!-- ... -->

    Bloomington, IN -A native of Oslo, Norway, Christina Solli enters her junior season on the women's tennis team.

    Solli's list of accomplishments before IU are extensive. Solli was the three-time singles, five-time doubles, and six-time mixed-doubles junior Norwegian champion. She was named All-City in doubles, four years, and All-City in singles, three years. Solli was recognized as the senior Norwegian team champion, and competed in the European individual and team championships (U-14 and U-16).

    Solli joined the Hoosiers in the fall of 2000; she finished the fall season with a 3-6 singles record. Unfortunately Solli did not see spring action due to a back injury.

    Solli used her sophomore year to redshirt. Although not playing, Solli performed well off the court earning Academic All-Big Ten and Alpha Beta honors.

    Now that we know about her achievements on the court, let's learn more about Christina Solli off the court!

    Major: Business
    Birthdate: March 15, 1980

    Color:  Yellow
    Actor/Actress:  George Clooney, Audrey Hepburn
    Type of Music:  Rock, jazz, classical, R & B
    Movie:  Breakfast at Tiffany's, Bridget Jones' Diary
    Food: Pasta
    Book:  Harry Potter
    Sports Figure/Team: Mike Piazza - Mets

    Mario Lemieux - Pittsburgh Penguins

    Animal:  Dog, and horse
    TV Show:  The Flying Nun
    Ice Cream Flavor:  Vanilla
    Website:  www.aftenposten.no - the largest Norwegian Newspaper
    Car:  2002 Range Rover


    Q: Do you have any brother's or sisters?

    CS: "I am an only child."

    Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?

    CS: "I enjoy going to the movies, hang out with friends, and watch sportcenter."

    Q: Most memorable athletic moment?

    CS: "When Norway beat Brazil 2-1, and World Cup soccer in 1998."

    Q: If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would it be?

    CS: "Definitely the Caribbean."

    Q: What do you aspire to be or do after graduation?

    CS: "Work with Brand Management."

    Q: When did you start playing tennis?

    CS: "I started playing tennis when I was six years old."

    Q: If you had to play another sport, what would it be and why?

    CS: "Soccer and ice hockey, because I am very interested in both of these sports. They are fun to do, and I played ice hockey when I was younger."

    Q: What three words best describe you:

    CS: "Blond, smiling, in a hurry."

    Finish this sentence: I came to Indiana because...

    CS: "...of the tennis program and the business school."

    Check back with IUHOOSIERS.COM to learn more about Solli's teammates on the women's tennis team!





     

     


       

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties