Women's Tennis

    Q&A with Dominika Walterova (9-16-02)

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    News Update

    September 12, 2002

    Meet Dominika Walterova

    1!-- ... -->

    Bloomington, IN - A native of Zlin, Czech Republic, Dominika Walterova came to the United States with an extensive list of accomplishments. In 1997 Walterova was a double semi-finalist in Sri Lanka and India and a singles semi-finalist in Cyprus. In 2001, she won three singles indoor tournaments and five doubles tournaments in Czech Republic, including the South Moravian Cup.

    Walterova joined the Hoosiers midway through the season of her freshman year. She finished with a 15-8 singles record playing primarily at the No.5 spot. Walterova compiled a Big Ten record of 6-5, and had a doubles record of 15-8. Walterova finished the season playing with Inga Radel and going 7-2 overall and 6-2 in Big Ten matches.

    Now that we know about her achievements on the court, let's learn more about Dominika Walterova off the court!


    Color: Blue, black, and red
    Actor/Actress: Russell Crowe
    Type of Music:  Rock (Incubus, Radiohead)
    Movie:  Gladiator
    Food:  Broccoli, pineapple, pasta
    Book:  The Picture of Dorian Gray
    Sports Figure/Team:  Gustavo Kuerten - Czech Ice Hockey
    Animal:  Dog
    TV Show:  Sex and the City
    Ice Cream Flavor: Caramel
    Website:  www.greetings.yahoo
    Car:  Volvo

    Q: Do you have any brother's or sisters?

    DW: "No, I don't have any."

    Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?

    DW: "I like to sleep, listen to music, and hong out with my friends."

    Q: Most memorable athletic moment?

    DW: "When Czech Republic ice hockey team won the Olympic Games in 1998."

    Q: If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would it be?

    DW: "Iceland or Australia."

    Q: What do you aspire to be or do after graduation?

    DW: "All I know is that I want to have a good job after graduation."

    Q: When did you start playing tennis?

    DW: "I started playing tennis when I was ten years old."

    Q: If you had to play another sport, what would it be and why?

    DW: "Volleyball, because my dad and I used to play together."

    Q: What three words best describe you:

    DW: "Open, tolerant, optimistic."

    Finish this sentence: I came to Indiana because...

    DW: ...of school, tennis, to learn the language, and to meet new people."

    Check back with IUHOOSIERS.COM to learn more about Walterova's teammates on the women's tennis team!




     

     

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties