Women's Track

    Hoosiers Combine to Win 14 Events at Billy Hayes Invite

    Go Hoosiers! Ara Towns turned another regional-qualifying time in the 100m at the Billy Hayes Invite.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Ara Towns turned another regional-qualifying time in the 100m at the Billy Hayes Invite.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 5, 2006

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana track and field team turned in an impressive performance in its final tuneup before the Big Ten Championships at the 28th annual Billy Hayes Invitational on May 5. The Hoosier contingent turned in 14 first-place finishes, 13 personal-best marks and 10 regional qualifying times at the event. John Jefferson highlighted the Hoosier effort with the fastest time in the Mideast Region this season, winning the men's 1,500m Invitational. The Hoosier seniors were also honored with rings in the final home event of their careers.

    In his final meet at the Billy Hayes Track at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex, Jefferson ran an NCAA regional-qualifying time of 3.41.96 in winning the 1,500m Invitational. Jefferson's time bettered the fastest Mideast Region time of 3:42.20 set earlier this season and marked the fifth-fastest time by a collegiate this season.

    Charles Koeppen also turned in a strong performance in his final race at Hayes Track. Koeppen took top honors in the 3,000m with a time of 8:31.54. Chris Honig won the 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 9:14.47 as he dominated the competition with a 13 second margin of victory.

    The Hoosiers claimed three of the top-10 spots in the 400m event with Doug Dayhoff claiming the title. The Linton, Ind., native came in first with a personal-best and regional-qualifying time of 47.14. Trey Warfield and John Gunnell took fourth (47.60) and 10th (48.33), respectively, in the event with personal-best times.

    IU swept both the relay events on the men's side. Dayhoff teamed with David Neville, Keith Heerdegen and Leon Brown to claim the top spot in the men's 4x100m relay. The quartet's time was an NCAA regional-qualifying time of 40.62. The 4x400m team of Brown, Dayhoff, John Gunnell and Ryan Smith edged Indiana State's relay by .19 seconds. The team ran a 3:10.32, which was only .32 seconds off of the NCAA regional-qualifying time.



    Neville and Stephanos Ioannou won events for the Hoosiers with NCAA regional-qualifying times. Neville ran the fastest time of 20.80 in the 200m, while Ioannou took the top spot in the 110m hurdles with a personal-best time of 13.90.

    Wil Glover and Marcus Thigpen garnered second and fourth, respectively, in the 100m. Glover turned in a personal-best mark of 10.53, while Thigpen went 10.65 in his first competition of the outdoor season.

    In the men's field events, the Hoosiers took home three event titles, including a 1-2 showing in the long jump. Kyle Jenkins and Tyler Skelton took the top two spots in the long jump. Jenkins won the event with a leap of 7.30m (23-11.50), followed by Skelton's 7.28m (23-10.75) jump. The mark for Skelton was a personal best, while Jenkins was only .01m off his career best.

    In the throws, Wil Fleming won the hammer throw with an regional-qualifying toss of 65.77 (215-09). Ryan Ketchum notched two more regional-qualifying throws in the shot put and discus. Ketchum had a put of 18.05, while tossing the discus 52.98m (173-10). Jeff Coover won the pole vault event with a mark of 4.95m (16-2.75).

    On the women's side, Ara Towns turned in a NCAA Regional qualifying time in claiming the 100m. Town's time of 11.51 was only .01 off of her season-best time of 11.50 at the Sea Ray Relays on April 15. Zakiya Robinson followed her Hoosier teammate in fifth with a personal-best time of 12.10.

    The Hoosiers swept the women's relay event taking both the 4x100 and 4x400 events. The 4x100m team of Kyndal Carr, Michele Huber, Lorian Price and Stacey Clausing took the top spot with a season-best time of 45.92. The 4x400m quartet of Huber, Audrey Smoot, LaDonna Ray and Clausing edged Vanderbilt to win the event by .63 seconds. The time of 3:44.25 was nearly five seconds faster than the Hoosiers' previous season best.

    Caitlin Lauer, Stephanie Greer, Courtney Freiberger and Tiffany Howard all turned in personal-best showing in their respective events. Lauer took seventh in the 400m with a time of 57.98, while Frieberger was sixth in the 400m hurdles with a time of 1:03.68. In the 1,500m Invitational, Greer nabbed sixth in a time of 4:34.76. Howard turned in a pair of top-five performance in the discus and shot put, including a personal-best toss of 39.81m in the discus.

    The Hoosiers will next compete in the Big Ten Championship on May 13-14. The event will be hosted by Michigan State.

    Indiana Men's Results

    Wil Glover - 2nd - 10.53*
    Marcus Thigpen - 4th - 10.65
    Keith Heerdegen - 12th - 10.84
    Jacob Moylan - 13th - 10.92

    David Neville - 1st - 20.80R
    Wil Glover - 17th - 22.19
    Keith Heerdegen - 21st - 22.24
    Jacob Moylan - 24th - 22.37
    Martin Stephen - 26th - 22.42

    Doug Dayhoff - 1st - 47.14R*
    Trey Warfield - 4th - 47.60*
    John Gunnell - 10th - 48.33*
    Martin Stephen - 19th - 49.49

    Evan Bardach - 20th - 1:56.93

    1,500m Invitational
    John Jefferson - 1st - 3:41.96R
    Eric Redman - 6th - 3:46.91R*
    Brennon Plotner - 13th - 3:53. 24
    Charlie Keating - 20th - 3:59.99

    Charles Koeppen - 1st - 8:31.54

    3,000m Steeplechase
    Chris Honig - 1st - 9:14.47

    110m Hurdles
    Stephanos Ioannou - 1st - 13.90R*

    4x100m Relay
    Indiana A (Dayhoff, Neville, Heerdegen, Brown) - 1st - 40.62R

    4x400m Relay
    Indiana A (Brown, Dayhoff, Gunnell, Smith) - 1st - 3:10.32

    High Jump
    Britain Jorgensen - 7th - 1.90m (6-2.75)

    Pole Vault
    Jeff Coover - 1st - 4.95m (16-2.75)
    David Stead - T6th - 4.75m (15-7)
    Kyle Lechlitner - T6th - 4.75m* (15-7)

    Long Jump
    Kyle Jenkins - 1st - 7.30m (23-11.50)
    Tyler Skelton - 2nd - 7.28m* (23-10.75)

    Ryan Ketchum - 2nd - 52.98R

    Hammer Throw
    Wil Fleming - 1st - 65.77R (215-09)

    Jimmy Conrad - 7th - 51.17m(167-10)
    Chris Klakamp - 11th - 45.62m(149-8)

    Shot Put
    Ryan Ketchum - 2nd - 18.05R

    Indiana Women's Results

    Ara Towns - 1st - 11.51R
    Zakiya Robinson - 5th - 12.10*
    Candace Perry - 8th - 12.30

    Michele Huber - 7th - 25.35
    Audrey Smoot - 12th - 25.83
    Caitlin Lauer - 18th - 26.17

    Caitlin Lauer - 7th - 57.98*

    Larra Overton - 3rd - 2:10.35
    Wendi Robinson - 7th - 2:15.68

    1,500m Invitational
    Stephanie Greer - 6th - 4:34.76*
    Kelly Siefker - 7th - 4:35.42

    3,000m Steeplechase
    Ashley Sommer - 3rd - 11:17.50

    100m Hurdles
    Jean Schaffer - 10th - 15.24

    400m Hurdles
    Courtney Freiberger - 6th - 1:03.68*
    Britney Freiberger - 11th - 1:05.28
    Candice Wright - 15th - 1:06.84

    4x100m Relay
    Indiana A (Carr, Huber, Price, Clausing) - 1st - 45.92

    4x400m Relay
    Indiana A (Huber, Smoot, Ray, Clausing) - 1st - 3:44.25

    High Jump
    Sarah Gilleran - T7th - 1.60
    Jean Schaffer - T7th - 1.60

    Pole Vault
    Ashley Stinton - 11th - 3.15m (10-4)

    Long Jump
    Lorian Price - 2nd - 5.74m (18-10)

    Tiffany Howard - 4th - 39.81m* (130-07)

    Lindsey Heisler - 7th - 35.47m (116-04)
    Jean Schaffer - 11th - 31.31m (102-09)

    Shot Put
    Tiffany Howard - 5th - 13.15m (43-1.75)

    R - Indicates a regional-qualifying mark
    * - Indicates a personal best

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties