Women's Track

    Beckwith, Poore Lead IU to 4th, 5th

    Go Hoosiers! Molly Beckwith won the 800 meters to lead IU to fourth place with 92.5 points.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Molly Beckwith won the 800 meters to lead IU to fourth place with 92.5 points.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 16, 2010

    Complete Results | Combined Events Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana won two more events on the final day of the Big Ten Championships and got two second-place finishes and three third-place medals. Molly Beckwith won the 800 meters to lead IU to fourth place with 92.5 points, representing the best point total since 2003. Andrew Poore won the 5,000m to lead the Hoosiers to fifth with 82 points. The men had their best finish since 2006.

    Indiana finished the meet with five champions, nine All-Big Ten honorees and a total of 12 Big Ten medals.

    Beckwith won the IU's fifth Big Ten title in the 800m with a time of 2:04.11. The Worthington, Ohio, native won her second career Big Ten crown by a margin of more than 2.5 seconds. She is the first Hoosier to win the event since 1997. Lindsey Hartman took third with a time of 2:07.39, earning her first Big Ten medal, and Ashley Baker was seventh in 2:08.96.

    Poore won the 5,000m by more than three seconds, becoming IU's first 5,000m winner since Bob Kennedy won the event three straight years (1990-1992). Poore was in second with 200 meters left and took the lead, pulling away from the field all the way to the finish for a time of 13:49.23. His time is the seventh-best in school history. Poore finished second in the steeplechase on Saturday. Ben Hubers took seventh in the event with a time of 14:09.00.

    Ashley Rhoades cleared the winning height in the high jump, but took second after tiebreakers. The senior cleared 1.80m (5-10.75) to match Rebecca Buchholtz of Michigan State. Rhoades finished second on the second criteria of tiebreakers.

    Freshman Kelsie Ahbe earned All-Big Ten honors with a second-place finish in the pole vault. Ahbe cleared 4.00m (13-1.5) and bettered Big Ten record holder Alicia Rue of Minnesota via tiebreakers. Laura Williams tied for seventh with a clearance of 3.75m (12-3.5).

    Kind Butler earned two medals on the day with third-place finishes in the 100m and 200m dashes. Butler finished the 100m in 10.68 and the 200m in 21.41 seconds. He was .04 seconds out of second in the 100 and .03 seconds out of second in the 200. Devin Pipkin took sixth in the 100m with a time of 10.75 seconds.

    Faith Sherrill posted her third top-four performance of the meet, taking fourth in the discus. Her best of 50.47m (165-07) is the seventh-best in IU history and is 1'5" better than her previous career mark. Sherrill took fourth in the hammer on day one and won the shot put title on day two.

    Rex Parker was fourth and Olu Olamigoke was fifth in the triple jump. Parker's best leap of 15.25m (50-0.5) was just 1.5 inches out of second. Olamigoke's best leap of 15.22m (49-11.25) was just 2.75 inches out of second.

    Indiana was fourth in the women's 4x400m relay with a time of 3:42.22. The IU men were fifth in the men's 4x100m relay, in 40.72 seconds.

    Derek Drouin took sixth in the 110m hurdles after winning the high jump on Saturday, and Jackie Coleman finished eighth in the triple jump.

    The Hoosiers' next stop is Greensboro, N.C., for the NCAA Prelims on May 28-29. For complete coverage of IU track and field, stay tuned to IUHoosiers.com.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties