Women's Track

    Hilary Bruening Named IU Female Athlete of the Year

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Hilary Bruening Named IU Female Athlete of the Year A pair of All-Americans in wrestler Roger Chandler and track athlete Hilary Bruening have been named Indiana University's Male and Female Athlete of the Year for 1996-97.

    Bruening finished 9th at NCAA Championships with her second best time ever (2:04.79) which earned her All-America honors for the first time. She was the Big Ten Outdoor Champion in the 800 meters with a career best time of 2:04.14. During her career she has posted the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth best times in school history for the 800m run. She has also qualified for the USA Track & Field Championships. During the indoor season, the native of St. Louis, was the Big Ten champion in the 600m dash. She also set a school record in that race witll a time of 1:30.35. Bruening finished 14th in that event at the NCAA Indoor Championships. Bruening, who just completed her junior year at Indiana, is majoring in exercise science.

    Hilary Bruening and Zach Fleming are Big Ten Champions

    Zach Fleming and Hilary Bruening joined Mateja Bezjak as Big Ten Champions in Champaign, Illinois. With the victories, all three athletes automatically earn All-Big Ten honors.

    In the 800m Run, Hilary Bruening held off teammate Krista Ferrara to win her first outdoor Big Ten Championship, and her third overall Big Ten title. Leading from the start, Bruening ran the third fastest time in school history on her way to automatically qualifying for the NCAA Championships with a time of 2:04.14.

    Ferrara was right behind Bruening and also set a new personal best with a time of 2:06:32. Although the time improves her provisional qualifying mark, Ferrara remains on the bubble for the NCAAs. However, she was still happy with a second place finish at the Big Ten Championships.

    Overall the entire group of throwers finished very well. With the men Discus throwers finishing fourth, fifth, and sixth yesterday, the men's Shot Putters finishing first and fourth, Alison Morgan finishing second in the Discus and third in the Shot Put, and Mateja Bezjak winning the Javelin, throwing coach Randy Heisler was very pleased with the Big Ten placings although Bezjak and Fleming are still on the bubble for the NCAA Championships.

    Also putting a strong performance at the Big Tens was freshman hurdler LaToya Turner. Turner finished second in the 100m Hurdles with a provisional time of 13.63. Ohio State's Shandi Boyd-Pleasant won the event with a new Big Ten record of 12:98. Turner's time was an improvement on her previous qualifying time.

    Indiana recorded two other top finishes at the Big Tens as the women's 4x400 team finished second with a time of 3:39.83. The team of Tarviant Campbell, Krista Ferrara LaToya Turner, and Hilary Bruening finished second to Purdue, who recorded a time of 3:38.66. The Hoosiers' mark did pass the provisional qualifying time, but probably will not be enough to earn them a spot at nationals. Also recording a top finish was Donald Tidwell. Tidwell ran a provisional mark of 13.87 in the 110m Hurdles. As with the relay team, his mark was a provisional qualifying time, but will probably not make it to the championships.

    As a team, the men finished seventh with 62 points and the women were fifth with 67 points. Wisconsin won both the men, 145 points, and the women's, 121 points, Big Ten Team Championships.

    The Big Ten Championships was the final event for the team this season, but several Indiana athletes will be participating in the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex in Bloomington Indiana June 4-7.

    [Back to the Track and Field Press Release Index]

    Back to the IU Athletics home page

    Last updated: 15 July 1998
    URL: http://iuhoosiers.com/newsarchive/archive/1997/trpress.html
    Comments: track@indiana.edu
    Copyright 1995, The Trustees of Indiana University

    Go to IU Athletics Homepage

    Copyright 2004, The Trustees of Indiana University
    All photographs and images copyright of Indiana University Athletics



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties