Women's Track

    Indiana Set to Host Hoosier Classic

    Go Hoosiers! Lorian Price and the Hoosiers are ready for their second meet of the season.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Lorian Price and the Hoosiers are ready for their second meet of the season.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 11, 2006

    Hoosier Classic Weekly Release
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - After a successful start to the indoor season, the Indiana men's and women's track and field teams are set to host one of six home meets in 2006. The Hoosiers will converge at Gladstein Fieldhouse for the Hoosier Classic on Jan. 14 at noon.

    The Hoosier Classic is an open, unscored meet that will feature some of the nation's top athletes from powerhouse programs.

    Indiana University's Gladstein Fieldhouse makes a conversion to a Mondo-surfaced banked track during the 2006 indoor track and field season. The 200 meter track was recently transported to IU from the RCA Dome in Indianapolis. The track, built by Mondo in Italy, saw its first use for the inaugural IAAF World Indoor Championships in March 1987 and then hosted the NCAA Div. I and Div. II Indoor Track and Field Championships annually through 1999. The Hoosier Open marks the first events held on the new track since its arrival.

    The Hoosiers will make good use of the newly installed banked track at Gladstein Fieldhouse. Indiana will host six meets for the 2006 indoor season. For four consecutive weekends in Jan. IU will compete in its home facility. The Hoosiers travel to Fayetteville, Ark., Feb. 3-4 for the Tyson Invitational before returning home for the Hoosier Hills Invitational, the final competition before the Big Ten Championships.

    The Indiana men's and women's track and field teams successfully opened up the 2006 indoor campaign at the Hoosier Open on Jan. 7 in Gladstein Fieldhouse on their newly installed 200m banked track. The Hoosiers claimed victories in nine events in their debut. David Neville(400m), Andrea Dalla Rosa (weight throw, shot put), Jean Schaffter (high jump), Jamie Raklau (pole vault), Courtney Johnson (60m hurdles), Ryan Ketchum (shot put), Kiwan Lawson (long jump), and the women's 4x400m team (Smoot, Huber, Lauer and Clausing) all took home first-place finishes.

    A pair of Hoosiers recorded personal bests at the Hoosier Open. Neville set a new personal best in the 400m with a time of 46.67. In the pole vault, Raklau elipsed her previous best mark with a jump of 2.82m (9-3.00).

    Andrea Dalla Rosa and David Neville both earned the Big Ten's Athlete of the Week honors for the week ending Jan. 8. The award is the first of each of their careers.

    David Neville kicked off the season in thrilling fashion, claiming the 400m crown with a time of 46.67 at the 2006 Hoosier Open. Neville's winning time surpassed his previous personal best time of 46.95 set Dec. 12, 2005 at the Tyson Invitational. Additionally, Neville's time at the Hoosier Open meets the NCAA's provisional mark in the 400m (47.25).

    After sitting out last season, Andrea Dalla Rosa picked up two victories at the Hoosier Open. Dalla Rosa swept the competition in the weight throw and shot put with hurls of 16.26m (53-4.25) and 14.08m (46-2.50), respectively.

    The Hoosier track and field coaching staff is one of the best in the nation. The staff boasts three Olympians in Randy Heisler (1988, Discus), Rose Richmond (2004, Long Jump) and Dave Volz (1992, Pole Vault). Additionally, IU's jumps coach, Wayne Pate, was the 2005 National Assistant Coach of the Year. Along with Pate, assistant coach/men's distance coach, Robert Chapman, garnered Mideast Regional Assistant Coach of the Year last season. The Hoosiers also welcome former IU standout Jake Wiseman as the new assistant coach for pole vault and multi events. While at Indiana, Wiseman competed in the heptathlon and decathlon in the outdoor season and the 60m dash, long jump, pole vault, shot put and 1,000m indoors.

    After a successful fall cross country campaign, Sean and John Jefferson have their sights set on Big Ten and NCAA crowns for the indoor season. Both Jeffersons were All-Americans in the mile with Sean Jefferson setting the school record (3:56.44) at last year's Meyo Classic.

    En route to the men's team's highest finish (fifth) in 12 years at the NCAA Indoor Championships, Aarik Wilson became the first IU track and field athlete to claim two NCAA indoor titles at the same meet when he won the long jump and the triple jump in record-breaking fashion. Wilson was a ten-time All-American and was last season's Great Lakes, Mideast Region and Big Ten Athlete of the Year. Wilson decided to bypass his senior year of eligibility to turn professional.

    The 2005 campaign will go down as one of the most successful in Indiana track and field history. To go along with Wilson's two national titles in the triple jump and long jump, the Hoosier men claimed four Big Ten indoor crowns in Sean Jefferson (mile), David Neville (200m) and Wilson (triple jump, long jump). Additionally, Stephanos Ioannou was tabbed second team All-Big Ten for his impressive runner-up finish in the 60m hurdles at the conference championships. Indiana boasted four indoor All-Americans in six different events (Wilson, Sean Jefferson, John Jefferson, Stephen Haas). A total of six school records were broken in 2005. Sean Jefferson broke the Hoosier record in the mile at the Meyo Classic, Stephen Hass shattered the 3,000m record at the same meet then broke the 5,000m record seven days later at the Tyson Invite. Ioannou smashed the 60m hurdles record at the Alex Wilson Invite, while Wilson claimed the long jump school record at the NCAAs. The Hoosier 4x400m relay record was reset by Doug Dayhoff, David Neville, Andre Grimes and Rodney Hollis.

    The Hoosiers are back in action next weekend on Sat., Jan. 21 against Big Ten rivals Purdue and Ohio State. The meet is slated to begin at noon in Gladstein Fieldhouse.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties