Women's Track

    Hoosiers Travel to Notre Dame for Alex Wilson Invitational

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Lorian Price will compete at the Alex Wilson Invitational this weekend for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Lorian Price will compete at the Alex Wilson Invitational this weekend for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 1, 2007

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind.- The Indiana men's and women's track teams will send 11 athletes to the Alex Wilson Invitational, hosted by Notre Dame, March 2-3, 2007. The meet is the final competition before the NCAA Championships, held March 9-10 in Fayetteville, Ark.

    "We are taking a number of people who have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships, and we feel that these athletes have a good chance of improving their times," interim head women's track and field coach Judy Wilson said.

    Seniors Lorian Price and Courtney Johnson will compete in the 60-meter hurdles. Both women have NCAA provisional qualifying times in the event this season. Price ran a time of 8.43 at the Big Ten Championships, finishing fifth in the event. Her personal best time of 8.31, which ranks fourth all-time at Indiana, was done in 2005 at the Big Ten Championships.

    Johnson earned her best time of the year of 8.42 at the Indiana Relays on Feb. 3. She ranks fifth on the all-time Indiana list in the event. Johnson was sixth in the hurdles at the Big Ten Championships.

    Senior Lindsay Hattendorf has an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 16.39.95 in the 5,000-meter run. Her time came on Feb. 9 at the Tyson Invitational. She earned a sixth-place finish in the event at the Big Ten Championships.

    The distance medley relay team of senior Stacey Clausing, senior Molly Beckwith, sophomore Caitlin Lauer and sophomore Wendi Robinson ran a time of 11:44.21 at the Tyson Invitational. Their time ranks third on the school record list, and they have the potential to break the record of 11:41.99 (done in 2002) this weekend.

    "We're running the distance medley relay team because they weren't as fresh when they ran before," Wilson said. "For Lorian and Courtney, this is their last chance to make the national meet. They are both talented and could improve their times to give them a better chance at going to Arkansas next weekend."

    For the men, the 4x400-meter relay team of senior Trey Warfield, sophomore Martin Stephen, junior Ryan Smith and junior Doug Dayhoff will compete. The team finished second at the Big Ten Championships with a time of 3:12.10, finishing .03 seconds ahead of Purdue.

    The Hoosiers earned two individual titles and two school records fell as the track teams competed in the Big Ten Championships on Feb. 24-25. Indiana hosted the men's meet, while the women traveled to Illinois.

    For the men, senior Kiwan Lawson and junior Kyle Jenkins were named first team All-Big Ten after winning the long jump (7.73-meters) and triple jump (15.66-meters), respectively. Lawson finished third in the 200-meter dash (21.39), while Jenkins was fourth in the long jump (7.32 meters).

    Freshman Vera Neuenswander broke the school record and the Big Ten record in the pole vault, clearing 4.11 meters. She was named the women's Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

    Five Hoosiers were named second team All-Big Ten. Sophomore Jeff Coover in the pole vault (5.05 meters) and the 4x400-meter relay team (Warfield, Stephen, Smith and Dayhoff) earned second-place finishes at the championship.

    In addition, Smith broke the school record in the 600-meter run, finishing in 1:18.99. He finished seventh in the event.

    Two sportsmanship nominees were also announced by the conference. Clausing received the honor for the women, while Dayhoff was named the men's recipient.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties