Women's Track

    Last Chance Weekend Looms for the Hoosiers

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Chelsea Blanchard
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Chelsea Blanchard
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 2, 2011

    Meet Notes (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

    The Hoosiers have nine NCAA automatic qualifying marks on the season. This weekend is the last chance to add to that list of Hoosiers headed to College Station, Texas. The Hoosiers will head to the Alex Wilson Invitational in Notre Dame, Ind., and to the Iowa State NCAA Qualifier in Ames, Iowa this weekend, looking to move up the national list and into the national meet.

    Hoosiers currently on the NCAA bubble include sprinter Kind Butler in the 60 and 200 meters, the women's distance medley relay, IU's men's and women's pole vaulters, Monique Riddick in the women's shot put and Patrick Onye in the men's weight throw. The last chance weekend has been good to the Hoosiers in recent years, as Hoosiers stamped their tickets to NCAAs at the Alex Wilson Invitational in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

    The Big Ten Championships saw Hoosiers provide dominating performances. The Indiana men finished second with 104.5 points and the women took fifth with 67 points.

    Highlighting the meet for IU were Andy Bayer, who won the 3,000m title, Kind Butler, who won the 60m crown, Derek Drouin, who won his fourth-straight Big Ten high jump title, Andrew Poore, who won his second 5,000m title, and Faith Sherrill, who broke the Big Ten meet record in the shot put.

    Bayer was named the Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships, and Drouin and Sherrill were both named Big Ten Field Athletes of the Year and Big Ten Field Athletes of the Championships.

    Drouin is Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year for the third time in his career (indoor and outdoor in 2010). Sherrill wins the honor for the second time (outdoor in 2010). Drouin and Bayer are the 13th and 14th Big Ten Athletes of the Year all-time for the men's program. Sherrill is the fifth female Big Ten Athlete of the Year for the women's program.

    Bayer took the 3,000 meter Big Ten title and finished second in the mile before taking sixth in the 5,000m. He scored 21 points for the Hoosier cause. He has NCAA automatic qualifications this season in the mile, 3000 and distance medley relay.

    Drouin won his fourth Big Ten high jump crown, tying his own Big Ten Indoor Meet record in the process. He jumped seven heights at the Big Ten Meet and never had a miss. Drouin has cleared the NCAA Automatic qualifying standard four times this season and ranks third nationally on the season.

    Sherrill won the Big Ten shot put title for the second time in her career, breaking the Big Ten Indoor meet record by more than two feet. She has an automatic NCAA berth with the nation's best throw this season in the shot put. Her throw, which broke the IU and Big Ten all-time records, is the 10th-best collegiate throw all-time and the eighth-best collegiate throw ever by an American.

    Fans of IU track and field will have access to greatly expanded coverage of the Hoosiers in 2011. Media Relations contact Kyle Johnson will be covering the Hoosiers all season long on Twitter and IUHoosiers.com. His Twitter posts will include live updates from meets all season long.

    Weekly Youtube videos, previews, recaps, photo galleries, results and much, much more will be available all season long. You can get updates sent straight to your mobile device or computer via Twitter by following Johnson at twitter.com/KJatIU.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties