Women's Volleyball

    3-0 Hoosiers Head to Charleston

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Kyndall Merritt
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Kyndall Merritt
    Go Hoosiers!

    Sep 4, 2013

    College of Charleston Invitational (TD Arena)
     Friday, Sept. 6 Free Admission
     4:30 p.m. ET
    Indiana vs. South Carolina State: Listen Live! | Live Stats
     Saturday, Sept. 7
    Free Admission
     10 a.m. ET Indiana vs. Coastal Carolina: Listen Live! | Live Stats
     7 p.m. ET
    Indiana vs. College of Charleston: Listen Live! | Live Video | Live Stats
     Tournament Notes
    Indiana Get Acrobat Reader, Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader
     Social Media @IUVolleyball | Facebook | Instagram

    The Hoosiers (3-0) hit the road for the first time on the season this weekend, heading to the College of Charleston Invitational in Charleston, S.C. Indiana will play South Carolina State (0-3)on Fri., Sept. 6 at 4:30 p.m. ET, before taking on Coastal Carolina (1-2) at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday and capping the weekend against the host Cougars (3-0) at 7 p.m. ET. You can listen to all three matches live on IUHoosiers.com, as the Voice of IU Volleyball Jimmy Cavanaugh will be on the call.

    Indiana will play all three programs for the first time ever. The Hoosiers are 6-2 all-time versus teams from the Palmetto State, including a 1-1 record in S.C. The Hoosiers last played a team from the state on September 10, 2005, when the Hoosiers topped Furman and fell to Winthrop in Rock Hill, S.C. Indiana's Sherry Dunbar has history in Charleston, as she was the head coach of the Cougars for four seasons, winning four SoCon titles and earning three NCAA tournament berths.

    The College of Charleston returns all but two players this season from a SoCon Championship team that advanced to the second round of NCAA Tournament action in 2013. The Cougars fell to the Miami Hurricanes in the tournament, a team that included current Hoosier Awele Nwaeze.

    The captains of the 2013 IU Volleyball team, as elected by the players, are Caitlin Hansen and Jade Henderson. The team also has started a leadership council this season which includes Jordan Haverly, Melanie Hicks, Morgan Leach and Katie Gallagher.

    Henderson and Hansen will be the team's designated leaders on the court. Each of the four members of the Leadership Counsel will be the team's go-to leader for designated areas. Hicks will be in charge of Gameday Preparation, Haverly will take the lead for Academics, Leach is in charge of Treatment and Recovery, and Gallagher will spearhead Community Outreach.

    Head Coach Sherry Dunbar has led her Hoosiers to at least one non-conference tournament title in each of her six seasons in Bloomington, and a total of 10 tourney crowns.
    2007: Valparaiso Popcorn Classic
    2008: IU adidas Classic
    2009: Flo Hyman Invitational (U. of Houston), Hampton Inn Invitational (Ohio University)
    2010: Courtyard Marriott Georgia Tech Classic, IU adidas Classic, Niagara/Canisius Tournament
    2011: IU Classic, Hoosier Classic
    2012: Black Knight Invitational, Indiana Invitational
    2013: Indiana Invitational




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties