Women's Water Polo

    Shae Fournier Named 2014 CWPA Player of the Year, Coach King Honored as Coach of the Year.

    Go Hoosiers! Allison Campbell
    Go Hoosiers!
    Allison Campbell
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 24, 2014

    LEWISBURG, Pa. - Indiana University's Shae Fournier (Sr., Winnipeg, Manitoba/Grant Park) has been named the CWPA Player of the Year for the first time in her career. Hoosier head Coach Barry King pick up his second straight Coach of th Year honor as the Hoosiers place a record four players on the First Team of the 2014 All-Western Division Team announced today by the Collegiate Water Polo Association.

    Indiana, which ties the all-time league record for most players on the First Team, placed a total of six athletes on the All-Conference Team as two more Hoosiers were given Second Team honors. The six All-Conference selections from IU set a new high for the total number of student-athletes to claim honors from the league in one season.

    A 2013 and 2012 First Team selection, Fournier claims her fourth All-Conference nod and second individual award as she picked up Second Team accolades in 2011 to go along with the Rookie of the Year award.

    Joining her own the First Team are goalie Jessica Gaudreault (So., Napean, Ontario/St. Joseph) who notches her second All-West honor after being named to the First Team in 2013, Rebecca Gerrity (Jr., Marin, Calif./Marin Catholic) picking up her second All-Conference nod in a Hoosiers' suit after taking home Second Team notice in 2013, and rounding out Indiana's First Team picks is Allison Campbell (Sr., Maple Ridge, B.C./Maple Ridge Secondary). Campbell garners her fourth All-Conference award dating back to 2010. Campbell, who did not play last season, now has pairs of honors from both the Southern and Western Divisions.



    A 2012 All-Western Division First Team selection with the Maryland Terrapins, she claimed All-Division First Team and Most Valuable Player of the Year honors in 2011. Further, she notched 2010 Southern Division Second Team accolades to go along with the inaugural division Rookie of the Year award.

    For Indiana, the combination of Fournier and Campbell marks the first time two recognized Player of the Year recipients are on the same roster simultaneously. Further, it marks the first instance in the history of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) varsity competition that Player of the Year recipients from different divisions have competed on a common team in the same season.

    Unlike the First Team in which all seven recognized student-athletes hold previous All-Conference nods, the Second Team of the Western Division team is comprised of Hoosiers Shelby Taylor (Jr., Calgary, Alberta/St. Francis) and Candyce Schroeder (So., San Clemente, Calif./San Clemente) who pick up their first honors.

    In addition to the 14 honored All-Conference players, Indiana head coach Barry King claims his second Western Division Coach of the Year award following prior honors in 2013.

    Western Division Team
    Player of the Year: Shae Fournier (Indiana University)
    Coach of the Year: Barry King (Indiana University)

    Rookie of the Year: Allison Skaggs (University of Michigan)
    First Team
    Jessica Gaudreault (Goalie) * Indiana University
    Shae Fournier *!=^ Indiana University
    Allison Campbell !%{>< Indiana University
    Rebecca Gerrity + Indiana University

    Jemma Dendy Young * Hartwick College
    Sami Capparelli *# Hartwick College
    Kelsey Nolan +! University of Michigan

    Second Team
    Michaela Davies (Goalie) + Hartwick College
    Katelyn Jacobs + Gannon University
    Shelby Taylor Indiana University
    Candyce Schroeder Indiana University

    Presley Pender University of Michigan
    Allison Skaggs University of Michigan
    Gina-Bella Mata 'afa Notre Dame College


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties