Women's Water Polo

    Coach Barry King Named Conference Coach of the Year

    Go Hoosiers! Teammates Shae Fournier and Jessica Gaudreault
    Go Hoosiers!
    Teammates Shae Fournier and Jessica Gaudreault
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 25, 2013

    ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Head Coach Barry King and five members of the Indiana water polo team were given CWPA Western Division All-Conference Awards, announced Thursday by the conference offices.

    Coach King was named Coach of the Year, redshirt senior Jakie Kohli, junior Shae Fournier, and freshman goalie Jessica Gaudreault were named to the first team, while sophomores Colleen McNaught and Rebecca Gerrity were named to the second team.

    This is Coach King's first ever Coach of the Year award from the CWPA since Indiana joined the conference in 2001. The Hoosiers haven't had three First Team All-Conference players in the same year since 2005.

    Barry King is currently coaching his 16th season at Indiana. King has an all-time career record of 354-196-2, including his current season record of 19-12. This season, King led the Hoosiers to their first ever CWPA Western Championship.

    The offensive combination of Jakie Kohli and Shae Fournier has given the Hoosiers a total of 119 goals- 60 from Kohli and 59 from Fournier this season. Both currently hold the single-game record at IU for six goals score in a single match, and both are in hot pursuit of the all-time scoring record at Indiana.

    After taking a year off to recover from shoulder surgery, Kohli has lead the team in scoring with 60 goals and added 29 assists, 52 steals, and 23 field blocks. She is currently only seven goals away from breaking the all-time scoring record at IU. She has 240 for her career while Kristin Stanford tops the list with 246. She also ranks fourth all-time in assists and second in steals.



    Fournier, who currently holds the record at Indiana for most goals scored in a season with 95, is fourth on the career list as a junior with 213 goals. She only needs 12 more to pass Krista Peterson in third with 224. Fournier has added season totals of 59 goals, 34 assists, 57 steals, and 32 field blocks, which is either first or second on the team in every statistical category.

    Freshman goalie Jessica Gaudreult also earned first team honors by her amazing performances in the Hoosiers three biggest wins of the year against No. 10 Princeton, No. 8 Hawaii, and against conference rival No. 18 Michigan. Gaudreault has 171 saves on 533 shot attempts on the year.

    Sophomores Colleen McNaught and Rebecca Gerrity were named to the All-Conference Second Team. McNaught leads the team in assists for the second straight year with 36. She was named Player of the Week for March 11-17 for her show stopping performance at the Aztec Invitational and Lancer Invites where she finished the weekend with nine goals, 11 assists, and nine steals against some of the toughest competition in the country.

    Rebecca Gerrity, who spent her first season at IU after transferring from Maryland, hasn't had any trouble fitting in on the roster. She set a new personal record with four goals in a match against Colorado State. She has started 24 of the 32 games this season for Indiana and has 32 goals, 15 assists, and 13 steals.

    Indiana begins their run of the CWPA Eastern Championships tomorrow at 3:20 pm EST against either Bucknell or Mercyhurst.

    Western Division All-Conference Awards

    Player of the Year: Sami Capparelli (Hartwick College)
    Coach of the Year: Barry King (Indiana University)
    Rookie of the Year: Bryce Beckwith (University of Michigan)

    First Team
    Jessica Gaudeault (Goalie) Indiana University
    Shae Fournier Indiana University
    Jakie Kohli Indiana University
    Kiki Golden University of Michigan
    Lauren Colton University of Michigan
    Sami Capparelli Hartwick College
    Jemma Dendy Young Hartwick College

    Second Team
    Michaela Davies (Goalie) Hartwick College
    Lily Martinez Hartwick College
    Colleen McNaught Indiana University
    Rebecca Gerrity Indiana University
    Baily Gadd Gannon University
    Kaitlyn Jacobs Gannon University
    Kelsey Nolan University of Michigan
    Kanoe Lyons Notre Dame College


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties