Women's Water Polo

    Indiana Earns Eight Seed, Will Host Play-In Game Saturday

    Go Hoosiers! Indiana represents the 2014 CWPA Champions
    Go Hoosiers!
    Indiana represents the 2014 CWPA Champions
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 28, 2014

    INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Indiana Hoosiers have earned an eight seed in the 2014 NCAA Tournament to be held at the USC Aquatic Center in Los Angeles May 9-11 the selection committee has just announced. Indiana, 22-5, will host a play-in game between No. 9 Wagner at Councilman-Billingsly Aquatic Center in Bloomington this Saturday May 3 at 1:30 pm EST. Tickets will be $5.00 for adults and $3.00 for students. The first 200 students at the door will be admitted fore free.

    The NCAA Women's Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2014 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship. The top six teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two play-in games.

    The play-in games will be conducted May 3 on the campuses of the higher-seeded teams. The winners will advance to the championship. The 2014 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers' bracket to determine places three through eight.

    In the play-in games, No. 7 seed UC San Diego (26-10) will play No. 10 seed Pomona-Pitzer (23-13). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play No. 2 seed UCLA (25-4). In the other play-in game, No. 8 seed Indiana (22-5) will be paired with No. 9 seed Wagner (25-11), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play No. 1 seed Stanford (22-1).

    Rounding out the bracket with will be No. 3 seed Southern California (24-3) facing No. 6 seed UC Irvine (24-7), and No. 4 seed California (19-8) competing against No. 5 seed Arizona State (15-10).

    Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Indiana), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Stanford), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining four teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties