Women's Water Polo

    Lappan Received Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship

    Go Hoosiers! Meghan Lappan
    Go Hoosiers!
    Meghan Lappan
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 16, 2014

    ROSEMONT, Illinois - Indiana water polo player Meghan Lappan was one of 24 student-athletes across the Big Ten to receive the Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship. The other IU recipient was Eric Ress from the men's swimming and diving team.

    The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two student-athletes from each of the 12 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

    This year's 24 recipients span 19 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including five student-athletes who plan to enroll in medical school and three honorees that will enter law school. This year's honorees are also pursuing graduate degrees in diverse fields of study, including bioengineering, classical studies, counseling psychology, electrical engineering, finance and investments, mechanical engineering and physics.

    All 24 of the recipients have been named Academic All-Big Ten at least once in their career, while four have been tabbed Academic All-Americans - Illinois' Bruno Abdelnour, Iowa's James Morris, Michigan State's Kristen Kelsay and Ohio State's Michael Newburger. Two student-athletes helped lead their teams to Big Ten Championships this season, including Michigan's David Moore (men's swimming & diving) and Northwestern's Maria Kovalchuk (field hockey). Newburger was the 2013 NCAA Champion on the pommel horse.

    Four postgraduate scholarship winners - Iowa's Morris, Michigan's Moore, Michigan State's Kelsay and Minnesota's Justin Morinishi - have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees in their respective sports so far this academic year. Two Big Ten student-athletes received All-Big Ten recognition in their respective sports thus far this season, as Indiana's Eric Ress and Iowa's Morris earned All-Conference honors.



    Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Student-athletes must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

    The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student's postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

    The complete list of 2013-14 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

    Bruno Abdelnour, Men's Tennis
    Anne Goering, Women's Swimming & Diving

    Meghan Lappan, Women's Water Polo
    Eric Ress, Men's Swimming & Diving

    James Morris, Football
    Marike Stribos, Field Hockey

    David Moore, Men's Swimming & Diving
    Kiley Tobel, Women's Track & Field

    Michigan State
    Jacob Jarzen, Men's Swimming & Diving
    Kristen Kelsay, Women's Volleyball

    Rachel Drake, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
    Justin Morinishi, Men's Gymnastics

    Brandon Chapek, Football
    Sunny Russell, Women's Rifle

    Maria Kovalchuk, Field Hockey
    Daniel Tyson, Baseball

    Ohio State
    Michael Newburger, Men's Gymnastics
    Alexandra Norris, Women's Swimming & Diving

    Penn State
    Lindsay Musgrove, Women's Gymnastics
    Matthew Salig, Men's Swimming & Diving

    Cody Davis, Football
    Kyle Mosier, Wrestling

    Michael Brice, Men's Track & Field/Cross Country
    Ilana Friedman, Women's Ice Hockey


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties