Women's Water Polo

    Indianapolis Selected to Host 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship

    Go Hoosiers! The IU Natatorium in Indianapolis will host the 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship
    Go Hoosiers!
    The IU Natatorium in Indianapolis will host the 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship
    Go Hoosiers!

    Dec. 11, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The NCAA has named the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis as the site of the 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo National Championship. The bid was awarded by the NCAA on Wednesday as part of an announcement on host sites for 2014-18 seasons. Indiana University will be joining the Indiana Sports Corporation to serve as host of the event. It will also mark the first time that the championship will be held in the state of Indiana.

    "We really want to thank everyone who put in a bid," said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. "The competitiveness of the bids made it extremely difficult for the sport committees to select sites as there just weren't spots for all of the great bids we received. Ultimately the sites that were selected will provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible."

    The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

    "We are extremely excited to be a part of this process and have the ability to host the 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship," Indiana water polo head coach Barry King said. "The Indiana Sports Corporation is second-to-none when it comes to hosting big time events and there is no doubt they will make this one something that everyone will enjoy."

    The 2015 Women's Water Polo Championship will be held in Stanford, Calif, while the 2016 edition will be held at the Spieker Aquatic Center in Los Angeles, Calif., hosted by UCLA. After coming to Indianapolis in 2017, the event will return to the West Coast in 2018 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center and be hosted by the University of Southern California.



    Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men's basketball, Division I football, Division I men's and women's golf, Division I softball and Division III women's ice hockey.

    For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to www.ncaa.com/site-selections.

    Previous Women's Water Polo Championship Sites
    2013 - Harvard
    2012 - San Diego State
    2011 - Michigan
    2010 - San Diego State
    2009 - Maryland
    2008 - Stanford
    2007 - Long Beach State
    2006 - UC Davis
    2005 - Michigan
    2004 - Stanford
    2003 - UC San Diego
    2002 - Southern California
    2001 - San Diego State

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties