Women's Cross Country

    Two Hoosiers Named Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

    Go Hoosiers! Sarah Pease
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sarah Pease
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 4, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Senior wrestler Nate Everhart and junior cross country runner Sarah Pease were two of 22 student-athletes recognized by the Big Ten on Thursday (June 4) as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2009-10 academic year.

    These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

    One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 17 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and 10 All-Big Ten selections from the 2009-10 season.

    2010 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

    Illinois: Juice Williams, Sr., Football & Ashley Edinger, Sr., Volleyball
    Indiana: Nate Everhart, Sr., Wrestling & Sarah Pease, Sr., Women's Cross Country
    Iowa: A.J. Edds, Sr., Football & Laura Cilek, Jr, Women's Golf
    Michigan: Jason Jung, Jr., Men's Tennis & Brittany May, Sr., Women's Water Polo
    Michigan State: Franklin Gomez, Sr., Wrestling & Lauren Aitch, Sr., Women's Basketball
    Minnesota: Jayson Ness, Sr., Wrestling & Gabriele Anderson, Sr., Women's Track and Field
    Northwestern: Eric Metzler, Sr., Wrestling & Beth Marshall, Sr., Women's Basketball
    Ohio State: Taylor Candella, Sr., Men's Cross Country & Hillary Dow, Sr., Women's Gymnastics
    Penn State: Jason Yeisley, Sr., Men's Soccer & Daphne Skelos, Sr., Women's Swimming and Diving
    Purdue: Jacob Palmer, Jr., Men's Track and Field & Kristen Arthurs, Sr., Volleyball
    Wisconsin: Chris Maragos, Sr., Football & Vicky Opitz, Sr., Women's Rowing



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties