Women's Cross Country

    Hoosiers Ready for NCAAs in Terre Haute

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Chelsea Blanchard
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Chelsea Blanchard
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 19, 2009

    Meet Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    Indiana State University will host the NCAA Div. I Cross Country Championships on Mon., Nov. 23, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The men's race will begin at approximately 12:08 p.m. ET, followed by the women's race at approximately 12:58 p.m. Both championship races will be broadcast live on Versus Network and streamed online via NCAA.com.

    The Indiana women's team received one of 13 at-large bids into the national meet after finishing fourth at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional in Bloomington on Sat., Nov. 14. The bid is the first for the Hoosier women since 2004 and is the seventh in program history. For the men's team, redshirt sophomore Andrew Poore received an individual qualification in the meet after finishing fourth at the regional.

    Poore will look to become Indiana's 25th All-American in men's cross country and the first since 2006. Wendi Robinson became Indiana's 10th All-American in women's cross country when she claimed the honors last season. A repeat performance would make Robinson just the third Hoosier woman to claim All-America honors in multiple seasons (Michelle Dekkers (`88, `89, `90) and Jessica Gall (`04, `05)). Only once have two female Hoosiers earned the accolades in the same season (Dekkers and Mary Beth Driscoll in `89). The women's team has posted two top-10 finishes in school history (1988, 89), and the last time the team qualified, in 2004, the Hoosiers finished 30th. The Hoosiers have finished in the top 15 four times, the last time in 2002 (14th). The top 40 finishers in each race earn All-America accolades.

    Indiana saw five runners earn All-Region honors at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional on Saturday, Nov. 14. Redshirt sophomore Andrew Poore and redshirt junior Sarah Pease each posted fourth-place finishes to lead IU. Senior Wendi Robinson finished sixth for the women, and freshman Zach Mayhew and sophomore Chelsea Blanchard also grabbed All-Region honors, finishing 11th and 14th, respectively. The Indiana women finished fourth, just three points out of second, and the men finished eighth.

    Pease paced the Hoosiers for the first time this season and the first time since her 2007 season. She finished in 21:01.06, which was 2.5 seconds ahead of the fifth-place runner. Robinson was close behind, finishing in 21:07.07 for sixth. Robinson outkicked Ball State's Alison Bishel by .32 seconds. Blanchard ran very well, finishing in 21:29:07 for 14th. The Indiana top-five was wrapped up by freshman Samantha Ginther (36th, 22:04.88) and Caitlin Engel (48th, 22:15.20).

    Poore paced the Hoosiers for the second time in his career, finishing in 31:11.70 for 4th overall. Next across the line for IU was Mayhew, who took 11th in 31:23.57. Rounding out the top five for IU were Andy Bayer (45th, 32:21.18), Jacob Laird (64th, 32:45.28) and DeSean Turner (89th, 33:11.84).



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties