Hall of Fame

    Hall of Fame - 1994 Inductees
    *Statistics current as of induction year*
    Dick Albershardt | William S. "Bill" Armstrong | Brad Bomba |
    Hobie Billingsley | Heather Crowe

    Photo of Dick Albershardt Dick Albershardt
    Won gymnastic letters in 1952, 1955 and 1956...won Big Ten championships on the trampoline in 1952 and 1956...became IU's only NCAA individual champion gymnast in the trampoline in 1956... two-time North-South Champion (all trampoline)...two-time recipient of the L.G. Balfour Award...performed internationally as Dick Albers.

    Photo of William S. "Bill" Armstrong William S. "Bill" Armstrong
    Won baseball letter in 1940...served as Executive Director and President of the IU Foundation from fundraiser and Athletic Department consultant, aided IU Athletics in many significant ways...instrumental in starting men's soccer as varsity sport, women's varsity sports and Student Athletic Board...helped establish the Indiana Classic...recipient of Z.G. Clevenger Award and Distinguished Alumni Service Award...Armstrong Stadium, for soccer and Little 500 bicycle race, named in his honor.

    Photo of Brad Bomba Brad Bomba
    Won football letters in 1954, 1955 and 1956 and led team in receiving all three years as an end...All-Big Ten in 1955...three-time Academic All-Big Ten and 1956 Academic All-American...played in 1956 East-West game and Senior Bowl and 1957 College All-Star Game...recipient of 1957 L.G. Balfour Award...served as team physician for all IU athletic teams from 1962-70 and has served as basketball physician since 1979...Z.G. Clevenger Award winner in 1977.

    Photo of Hobie Billingsley Hobie Billingsley
    Diving coach from 1959-89...helped lead IU swimmers and divers to 23 Big Ten and six NCAA championships...coached 115 national champions, including 22 Big Ten champions, three Olympic and four Pan American gold medalists and five world championships...coached Olympic teams in 1968, 1972, 1976 and 1980...selected nine times as Diving Coach of the Year...Founded World Diving Coaches Association in 1968 and American Coaches Diving Association in 1970...1982 NCAA Coach of the Year and Swimming Hall of Fame recipient...1994 Sammy Lee Award winner, the world's highest award in amateur diving.

    Photo of Heather Crowe Heather Crowe
    Won tennis letters in 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1984...helped lead Indiana to four Big Ten championships and 1982 Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women national title...four-time All-Big Ten in both singles and doubles...three-time Big Ten Most Valuable Player...two-time All-American in both singles and doubles...AIAW national singles champion in 1982 and recipient of the Broderick Award as top female tennis player in the nation...1983 IU Female Athlete of the Year.

    IU Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Classes
    2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997
    1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985 | 1984 | 1983 | 1982
    Or, if you are looking for a particular inductee, choose from our Alphabetical Listing.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties